Books On Our Site May Not Be Available In-Store
Is This Book In Stock?  Be Savvy!  Check availability details beneath the blue "Add to Cart" button. 

On Our
Shelves Now
This book is currently on our physical shelves at BookPeople and is probably available. Coming to the store to pick it up? Call to confirm the book is available and not on hold for someone else: 512-472-5050.
Not Yet Published (or) Coming Soon Available to pre-order. We'll contact you when the book has arrived. 
Any Other Message

We do not have this book in the store. We may have it in our warehouse. Place your order and we'll check the book's availability.

First Contact: Or, It's Later Than You Think (Paperback)

$13.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of May 21 5:58am
(FICT:SF/FANTASY)

Description


A satirical joyride in the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and Douglas Adams, First Contact introduces us to the hyper-intelligent Rigelians, who admire Woody Allen movies and Bundt cake, and who urge the people of Earth to mend their ways to avoid destruction of their planet. But the president of the United States, a God-fearing, science-doubting fitness fanatic, is skeptical of the evidence presented to him and sets in motion a chain of events that will change the lives of his young attachÉ, an alien scam artist, several raccoons, and a scientist who has predicted the end of the universe. Parrot sketch excluded.

About the Author


Evan J. Mandery is a professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York City. A former capital defense attorney, he is the author of five previous books. He lives in Manhasset, New York.

Praise For…


“First Contact was love at first sight! What a hilarious ride - the uber surreal meets The Daily Show. I’m now staring at the cosmic calendar waiting for Mandery’s next contact.”
-Tim Dorsey, Author of Nuclear Jellyfish

“Very funny... Mandery’s gleefully chaotic narrative packs just the right punch as he weaves in heady inter-galactic topics of censorship, physics, and, yes, the PTA.”
-G. Xavier Robillard, author of Captain Freedom

“Mandery’s sharp sense of humor and habit of addressing the reader make for a stimulating and intelligent read that’s never short on laughs.”
-Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9780061749773
ISBN-10: 006174977X
Publisher: Harper Paperbacks
Publication Date: January 26th, 2010
Pages: 267
Language: English