Books On Our Site May Not Be Available In-Store
Is This Book In Stock?  Be Savvy!  Check availability details beneath the blue "Add to Cart" button.

The Crimson Skew (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Crimson Skew Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of Jun 23 8:44am
(TEEN FANTASY & SCI F)

Staff Reviews


The Crimson Skew is a wonderfully satisfying conclusion to The Mapmaker's Trilogy. It makes good on the promises made in the Glass Sentence, and brings Sophia and Theo together again after a long, long time apart. I was pleasantly surprised by the mechanics of the conclusion--I expected a far different ending. Whether you've followed the entirety of the series or you're just jumping in, this adventure was marvelous.

— Demi

— From STAFF PICKS

Description


The stunning conclusion to S. E. Grove's New York Times bestselling Mapmakers trilogy a historical, fantastical adventure perfect for fans of Philip Pullman
It is late August 1892, and Sophia Tims is coming home from a foreign Age, having risked her life in search of her missing parents. Now she is aboard ship, with a hard-earned, cryptic map that may help her find them at long last.
But her homecoming is anything but peaceful. Threatening clouds hang over New Orleans harbor. Sinkholes have been opening in Boston, swallowing parts of the city whole. Rogue weirwinds tear up the Baldlands. Worst of all, New Occident is at war, led by a prime minister who will do anything to expand the country westward. He has blackmailed Sophia's beloved uncle Shadrack into drawing the battle maps that will lead countless men and boys including Sophia's best friend, Theo to their deaths.
As Sophia puzzles out her next move, Shadrack is peeling back layers of government intrigue, and Theo is bracing himself to fight. A red fog of war is rising, and New Occident's future hangs in the balance. . . .
The Crimson Skew is the thrilling final act of S. E. Grove's acclaimed Mapmakers Trilogy three unforgettable books set in a world like no other.

About the Author


S. E. Grove is a historian and world traveler. She spends most of her time reading about the early modern Spanish empire, writing about invented empires, and residing in Boston.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780670785049
ISBN-10: 0670785040
Publisher: Viking Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: July 12th, 2016
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: Mapmakers Trilogy