Books On Our Site May Not Be Available In-Store
Is This Book In Stock?  Be Savvy!  Check availability details beneath the blue "Add to Cart" button.

The Miniature Wife: And Other Stories (Hardcover)

Email or call for price.
Out of Print

Description


In the tradition of George Saunders and Aimee Bender, an exuberantly imagined debut that chronicles an ordinary world marked by unusual phenomena.
The eighteen stories of Manuel Gonzales's exhilarating first book render the fantastic commonplace and the ordinary extraordinary, in prose that thrums with energy and shimmers with beauty. In The Artist's Voice we meet one of the world's foremost composers, a man who speaks through his ears. A hijacked plane circles a city for twenty years in Pilot, Copilot, Writer. Sound can kill in The Sounds of Early Morning. And, in the title story, a man is at war with the wife he accidentally shrank. For these characters, the phenomenal isn t necessarily special but it's often dangerous.
In slightly fantastical settings, Gonzales illustrates very real guilt over small and large marital missteps, the intense desire for the reinvention of self, and the powerful urges we feel to defend and provide for the people we love. With wit and insight, these stories subvert our expectations and challenge us to look at our surroundings with fresh eyes. Brilliantly conceived, strikingly original, and told with the narrative instinct of a born storyteller, "The Miniature Wife "is an unforgettable debut.

About the Author


Manuel Gonzales is a graduate of the Columbia University graduate creative writing program. He has published fiction and nonfiction in "Open City", "Fence", "One Story", "Esquire", "McSweeney s Quarterly Concern", and "The Believer". He lives in Austin, Texas, with his wife and two children.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781594486043
ISBN-10: 1594486042
Publisher: Riverhead Books
Publication Date: January 10th, 2013
Pages: 304
Language: English