MysteryPeople Presents: AMY GENTRY - Good as Gone

 

 

Thursday, July 28 at 7PM

MysteryPeople Presents:

Local Debut Author
AMY GENTRY
speaking & signing
Good as Gone

 

 

 

 

 

 


Local author Amy Gentry joins us to speak and sign her debut crime novel, Good as Gone, the story of a girl’s disappearance and her return to her family, years later. Although her mother desperately wants to believe in her daughter’s return, she slowly discovers numerous holes in the young woman’s story. Gentry writes the long-running Austin Chronicle column “The Good Eye,” and has also written for The Texas Observer, Rumpus, LA Review of Books, and many more publications.


ABOUT GOOD AS GONE

When 13-year-old Julie Whitaker is kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, her family shatters. As the years go by and the search for Julie turns up nothing, even her mother Anna begins to lose hope. Then one night, the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic—only Anna can see the holes in Julie’s story. Fighting her worst fears, Anna begins a tortuous search for the truth about the young woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.

Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages.


ABOUT AMY GENTRY

Amy Gentry is a book reviewer for the Chicago Tribune whose work has also appeared in Salon, LA Review of Books, and the Best Food Writing of 2014. She spent several years volunteering at SafePlace a shelter and resource center for victims of sexual and domestic violence. Good As Gone is her first novel.


If you cannot attend the event and would like to order a signed copy of the book, add the book to your cart and put SIGNED COPY in the comments field at checkout. We ship all over the world!

Thank you for supporting Amy Gentry and your local independent bookstore!  
 
Event date: 
Thursday, July 28, 2016 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
603 N. Lamar
Austin, TX 78703
Staff Pick Logo
Good as Gone: A Novel of Suspense Cover Image
$23.00
ISBN: 9780544920958
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Houghton Mifflin - July 26th, 2016

Event Types Terms: