TERRY TEMPEST WILLIAMS - The Hour of Land

 

 

Thursday, July 20th at 7pm

Author
TERRY TEMPEST WILLIAMS
speaking & signing
The Hour of Land

 

 

 

 

 

 


ABOUT THE HOUR OF LAND

Now a National Bestseller, an ode to our national parks by the beloved New York Times bestselling author of When Women Were Birds

America’s national parks are breathing spaces in a world in which such spaces are steadily disappearing. This is why more than 300 million people visit the parks each year. 

In The Hour of Land, Terry Tempest Williams, author of the environmental classic Refuge and the beloved memoir When Women Were Birds, offers a gift of celebration: an exploration of our national parks, and what they mean to us and we mean to them. From the Grand Tetons in Wyoming to Acadia in Maine to Big Bend in Texas, Williams captures the unique grandeur of each place while unearthing what it means to shape a landscape with its own evolutionary history into something of our own making. Part memoir, part natural history, and part social critique, The Hour of Land is a meditation and a manifesto on why wild lands matter to the soul of America.

• Now a nominee for the Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence
• For readers of Peter Matthiessen, Barry Lopez, and Annie Dillard
• Beautiful paperback repackage with flaps makes this a perfect gift


ABOUT TERRY TEMPEST WILLIAMS

TERRY TEMPEST WILLIAMS is the award-winning author of fourteen books, including Refuge: An Unnatural History of Family and PlaceFinding Beauty in a Broken World, and When Women Were Birds. Her work has been widely anthologized around the world. She divides her time between Castle Valley, Utah, and Moose, Wyoming.


If you cannot attend the event and would like to order a signed copy of the book, add the book to your cart and put SIGNED COPY in the comments field at checkout. We ship all over the world!

Thank you for supporting Terry Tempest Williams and your local independent bookstore!  
Event date: 
Thursday, July 20, 2017 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
The Hour of Land: A Personal Topography of America's National Parks Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250132147
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - July 3rd, 2017

Event Types Terms: