Paz Pardo: The Shamshine Blind: A Novel

Monday, February 20, 2023 - 7:00pm
Free
BookPeople
603 N. Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78703
The Shamshine Blind: A Novel By Paz Pardo Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781982185329
Availability: Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 7-10 Days
Published: Atria Books - February 14th, 2023

BookPeople welcomes Paz Pardo in conversation with Kirk Lynn to celebrate the release of The Shamshine Blind: A Novel . The event will include a moderated discussion, a reading and a signing line.


EVENT INFO:

  • This event is free and open to the public.
    • Start time: 7 PM
    • Run time: 45-60 minutes, followed by a signing line.
    • Location: The Second Floor of BookPeople.
  • The author will be signing copies of their book after the speaking portion of the event.
    • To get a book signed, a copy of the event book or an item of equal value must be purchased from BookPeople.

EVENT GUIDELINES:

  • This event requires all attendees to be masked
  • Seating will be on a first-come, first-served basis.
  • There will not be a live stream or recording available.
  • BookPeople reserves the right to cancel or postpone this event if necessary.
  • If you have any other questions, please email us at online@bookpeople.com

ABOUT THE SHAMSHINE BLIND:

A beguiling blend of noir detective story and science fiction perfect for fans of Michael Chabon and Emily St. John Mandel, this unputdownable debut imagines a world where emotions have been weaponized, and a small-town law enforcement agent uncovers a conspiracy to take down what’s left of American democracy.

In an alternate 2009, the United States has been a second-rate power for a quarter of a century, ever since Argentina’s victory in the Falkland’s War thanks to their development of “psychopigments.” Created as weapons, these colorful chemicals can produce almost any human emotion upon contact, and they have been embraced in the US as both pharmaceutical cure-alls and popular recreational drugs. Black market traders illegally sell everything from Blackberry Purple (which causes terror) to Sunshine Yellow (which delivers happiness).

Psychopigment Enforcement Agent Kay Curtida works a beat in Daly City, just outside the ruins of San Francisco, chasing down smalltime crooks. But when an old friend shows up with a tantalizing lead on a career-making case, Curtida’s humdrum existence suddenly gets a boost. Little does she know that this case will send her down a tangled path of conspiracy and lead to an overdue reckoning with her family and with the truth of her own emotions.

Told in the voice of a funny, brooding, Latinx Sam Spade, The Shamshine Blind is “a rip-roaring beautifully crafted mash-up of cop noir, sci-fi, and alt-history that left me dazzled by its prescience and literary zing” (Leah Hampton, author of F*ckface).


ABOUT PAZ PARDO:

Paz Pardo is an Argentine-American award-winning playwright and novelist. She received her MFA from the Michener Center for Writers, her undergraduate degree from Stanford University, and is the recipient of a Fulbright scholarship. Raised in America, she currently lives in Argentina. The Shamshine Blind is her first novel.


ABOUT KIRK LYNN:

Kirk is one of the five Artistic Directors of Rude Mechs, in Austin, TX, who made Lipstick Traces, The Method Gun, and The Cold Record. Kirk also writes plays on his own, like Your Mother’s Copy of the Kama Sutra produced by Playwrights Horizons. Kirk’s debut novel, Rules for Werewolves, is being adapted for the screen. Kirk is at work on a second novel about a man who takes a vow of silence without first checking with his wife or employer. Kirk teaches writing at UT Austin, where he lives with his wife, the poet and novelist, Carrie Fountain and their two children, Muchloud and Nosleeper.


By purchasing a book from BookPeople, you are not only supporting a local, independent business – you’re showing publishers that they should continue sending authors to BookPeople.

Thank you for supporting Paz Pardo, Kirk Lynn, and your local independent bookstore!