BookPeople is open at limited capacity! Read our in-store shopping guidelines.

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth (Hardcover)

She-Wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth Cover Image
Not available to order

Description


"Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding." --Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds--and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other "she-wolves," as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much--and how little--has changed through the centuries.

Praise For…


“Helen Castor’s very readable She-Wolves is . . . full of beautiful, imperiled ladies; fearless knights; and remarkable, often unbelievable turns of fortune. . . . Castor is a fine scholar and an equally fine storyteller.”
-Cleveland Plain Dealer

“[Helen Castor is] an accomplished and elegant historian.”
-Miranda Seymour, New York Times Book Review

“A gripping book . . . She-Wolves is a superb history of the powerful women who have surrounded England’s throne, combining blood-drenched drama, politics, sex and swordplay with scholarly analysis, symptahy for the plight of women and elegant writing.”
-Simon Sebag Montefiore, Daily Telegraph (London)

“A fascinating biography of four powerful English queens…An insightful look at issues still relevant today, related by an accomplished historian and storyteller.”
-Kirkus Reviews

“Castor’s deep research will please European, military, and women’s historians, while [her] tight storytelling makes this unusually fine royal history enjoyable reading for casual readers.”
-Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Beautifully narrated . . . learned and exciting. This is medieval history at its best.”
-Evening Standard

“Castor skillfully combines this analysis with driving narratives, using vivd details from contemporary chronicles to bring those distant days alive. She-Wolves makes one gasp at the brutality of medieval power struggles—and at the strength and vitality of the women who sought to wield royal power.”
-Jenny Uglow, Financial Times

“Exceptional, even inspirational reading.”
-BookPage

“Castor has done a masterful job of outlining the burdens these women faced. . . . Readers of popular history of British royals will enjoy their immensely human stories.”
-Library Journal

“A fascinating biography…An insightful look at issues still relevant today, related by an accomplished historian and storyteller.”
-Kirkus Reviews

Product Details
ISBN: 9780061430763
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: March 1st, 2011
Pages: 496