The Accursed Vampire (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Accursed Vampire By Madeline McGrane, Madeline McGrane (Illustrator) Cover Image
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Aug 10 4:08pm
(KID:COMICS)

Staff Reviews


"I loved McGrane's self-published mini-comics about Dragoslava and their gang of vampire kids, so I was excited to dig into the author's full-length graphic novel debut. I wasn't disappointed! The Accursed Vampire is perfect for fans of Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Steven Universe, mixing classic vampire and magical lore with a sweet story of found family. I can't wait to see what our small vampire pals get up to next."

— Chloe

I loved McGrane's self-published mini-comics about Dragoslava and their gang of vampire kids, so I was excited to dig into the author's full-length graphic novel debut. I wasn't disappointed! The Accursed Vampire is perfect for fans of Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Steven Universe, mixing classic vampire and magical lore with a sweet story of found family. I can't wait to see what our small vampire pals get up to next.

— Chloe

"I loved McGrane's self-published mini-comics about Dragoslava and their gang of vampire kids, so I was excited to dig into the author's full-length graphic novel debut. I wasn't disappointed! The Accursed Vampire is perfect for fans of Buffy The Vampire Slayer and Steven Universe, mixing classic vampire and magical lore with a sweet story of found family. I can't wait to see what our small vampire pals get up to next." - Chloe

— From The Gay Book of the Week!

Description


*Named a Rainbow Book List Title*

A spooky and funny graphic novel perfect for fans of The Witch Boy and Real Friends

Dragoslava is a vampire kid. It has its perks, but sometimes being stuck as a kid forever can be a pain in the neck. And that’s not even the worst part. A few centuries ago, Drago was cursed by a witch. If they don’t complete every task she sets, they will be turned into worms.

When the witch wants a spellbook from Baneberry Falls, Drago sets off with their immortal friends. But mysteries await in this sleepy Midwestern town, and Drago must figure out if the keepers of the spellbook have a hidden agenda, like everyone else they’ve ever known.

One thing’s for sure: after this accursed mission, Drago’s immortal life will never be the same again!  

About the Author


Madeline McGrane has done work for Marvel Comics, Disney Publishing, and CollegeHumor. She lives in Minneapolis and makes comics about vampires. The Accursed Vampire is her first graphic novel.



Madeline McGrane has done work for Marvel Comics, Disney Publishing, and CollegeHumor. She lives in Minneapolis and makes comics about vampires. The Accursed Vampire is her first graphic novel.

Praise For…


"Humor and cute illustrations disarm readers just in time for deftly handled themes of accepting joy.  McGrane’s silly and spooky tale uses poignant moments about found families to touch readers’ hearts between bouts of laughter."
School Library Journal (starred review)

"Quirky art and [a] satisfying resolution emphasizes the joy of chosen families. A mischievous and treacherous adventure." — Kirkus Reviews



Product Details
ISBN: 9780062954343
ISBN-10: 0062954342
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: July 27th, 2021
Pages: 176
Language: English