The Library of Shadows (Hardcover)

The Library of Shadows By Rachel Moore Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Mar 1 2:03pm
(TEEN FANTASY & SCI F)

Description


Funny, moving, and heart-achingly real, this romantic romp and paranormal romcom debut—through a haunted library with trapdoors, ghosts, and memories—is full of great love that triumphs over even death, perfect for fans of Ninth House and Cemetery Boys.

Radcliffe Prep. The third most haunted school in the country, where a student disappearance isn’t uncommon and no one dares stay in the library after dark. And Este Logano enrolls with the hopes of finding her dead father.

Not literally, of course. She doesn’t believe in ghosts. Going to her dad’s school just seems like her best hope at figuring out who he was.

But then Este meets Mateo, who is maybe—probably—definitely—a real ghost. And an annoying one at that.

When Mateo frames Este for the theft of a rare book from the library’s secret spire and then vanishes, Este will have to track him down or risk being expelled and leaving Radcliffe early just like her father did.

Except following her father’s footsteps might be more dangerous than Este ever anticipated. As she investigates the library with its secret passageways, hidden tunnels, and haunted halls, she learns that the student disappearances aren’t just myth. And if she isn’t careful, she’ll be next.

About the Author


Rachel Moore is a content marketer and writer living in Nashville, Tennessee. She graduated from the University of Evansville with a degree in creative writing, and she has never met a rom-com she didn’t love. On the rare occasion she isn’t writing happy endings, you can find her collecting dictionaries, drinking entirely too much coffee, and drifting through library stacks.

Praise For…


“Perfectly mixes gothic elements with romance and mystery. Moore incorporates the enemies-to-lovers trope wonderfully, penning rapid and engaging banter between the sassy Mateo and curious Este as they try to ignore their connection. This unique novel blends different genres in a magical way, and readers will happily lose themselves in its twisting passages. Recommend to lovers of gothic tales.” — Booklist (starred review)

"Lyrical prose builds a complex plot featuring a sympathetic protagonist. A lively enemies-to-lovers romance offers a sweet counterpoint to Este’s poignant grief over her father’s death . . . A compelling, ghostly tale interweaving romance and mystery with a thread of horror." — Kirkus Reviews

"Debut author Moore entwines fairy tale horrors and heady romance to craft an eerie boarding school mystery . . . the swoony paranormal courtship between Este and Mateo burns brightly in this dark-academia adventure." — Publishers Weekly

"The characters deal with grief and loss in a genuine manner . . . VERDICT Fans of ghost stories and dark academia will embrace this debut novel. Recommended."
School Library Journal

"Moore’s debut has cozy chills and spooky thrills perfect for the fall season . . . and Moore’s good pacing and evocative prose offer some light escapism for the dark academia crowd and fans of Netflix’s Wednesday." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Poignant, romantic, and at-times laugh-out-loud funny, The Library of Shadows is a haunting paranormal mystery that is sure to keep readers guessing until the very last page." — Kelly Andrew, author of The Whispering Dark and Your Blood, My Bones

"Rachel Moore’s beautifully written debut blends ivy-wreathed academic mystery with delightful romcom wit; this is the perfect romantic read for a spooky, new-moon night." — Lyndall Clipstone, author of the World at the Lake’s Edge Duology and Unholy Terrors



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063284630
ISBN-10: 0063284634
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: September 5th, 2023
Pages: 368
Language: English