Books On Our Site May Not Be Available In-Store
Is This Book In Stock?  Be Savvy!  Check availability details beneath the blue "Add to Cart" button.

The Devil's Odds: A Mystery (Hardcover)

The Devil's Odds: A Mystery Cover Image
$25.99
It's complicated, and may be unavailable. Place an order and we will contact you with the expected arrival date.

Description


A rip-roaring mystery set in 1940s Texas, featuring a Texas Ranger and the New Orleans Mafia.  December, 1942. Texas Ranger Virgil Tucker receives a plea for protection from Madeline Kimbell, a terrified young woman who witnessed a crime. Keeping Madeline safe from the men who want to hurt her turns out to be harder than he imagined. When a prominent attorney is murdered, Virgil is drawn into the dangerous world of the New Orleans Mafia as the top mob bosses try to take over  alveston’s gambling empire. Chockfull of Southern charm, this book is perfect for fans of historical
mysteries and for anyone who loves Texas.

About the Author


MILTON T. BURTON was born in Jacksonville, Texas, and is a lifelong resident of the area. He has been variously a cattleman, a political consultant, and a college history teacher. He lives in Tyler, Texas.

Praise For…


Praise for Nights of the Red Moon:
“A lively and well-crafted plot...It made me glad to return to East Texas.”—Patrick Anderson, The Washington Post
“Burton’s rip-snorting third mystery will appeal to fans of Bill Crider, Ben Rehder, and Kinky Friedman.”—Publishers Weekly (starred)
“Burton takes a sure hand to the small-town politics, paperwork hassles and easy authority of an East Texas lawman’s life.”—Houston Chronicle
“An outstanding example of Texas noir.”—Gumshoe Review
“A tasty slice of local pie.”—The Austin American-Statesman

Product Details
ISBN: 9780312643355
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: February 28th, 2012
Pages: 272