BookPeople is OPEN to the public in a limited capacity More information here!

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Assembly (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Assembly Cover Image
$25.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Blistering, fearless, and unforgettable, a literary debut from an astonishing new talent, for fans of Raven Leilani, Claudia Rankine, and Jenny Offill

“Natasha Brown’s exquisite prose, daring structure, and understated elegance are utterly captivating. She is a stunning new writer.” — Bernardine Evaristo, author of the Booker Prize-winning Girl, Woman, Other

Come of age in the credit crunch. Be civil in a hostile environment. Go to college, get an education, start a career. Do all the right things. Buy a flat. Buy art. Buy a sort of happiness. But above all, keep your head down. Keep quiet. And keep going.

The narrator of Assembly is a black British woman. She is preparing to attend a lavish garden party at her boyfriend’s family estate, set deep in the English countryside. At the same time, she is considering the carefully assembled pieces of herself. As the minutes tick down and the future beckons, she can’t escape the question: is it time to take it all apart?

Assembly is a story about the stories we live within – those of race and class, safety and freedom, winners and losers.And it is about one woman daring to take control of her own story, even at the cost of her life. With a steely, unfaltering gaze, Natasha Brown dismantles the mythology of whiteness, lining up the debris in a neat row and walking away.

About the Author


Natasha Brown's debut novel draws on her decade as a not-quite insider at some of the biggest names in finance. She has worked in financial services since joining Goldman Sachs in 2011, after studying maths at Cambridge University. She developed Assembly as a 2019 London Writers Awards awardee in the literary fiction category.

Praise For…


“Natasha Brown’s exquisite prose, daring structure and understated elegance are utterly captivating. She is a stunning new writer.”
 —BERNARDINE EVARISTO, Booker Prize-winning author of GIRL, WOMAN, OTHER

“Bold and original, with a cool intelligence, and so very truthful about the colonialist structure of British society: how it has poisoned even our language, making its necessary dismantling almost the stuff of dreams. I take hope from Assembly, not just for our literature but also for our slow awakening.”—DIANA EVANS, author of ORDINARY PEOPLE

“Timely and urgent…Written in a distilled, minimalist prose, Assembly is illuminating on everything from micro aggressions in the workplace, to the reality of living in the ‘hostile environment’, to the legacy of British colonialism.”
 —THE OBSERVER, 10 Best Debut Novelists of 2021
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316268264
ISBN-10: 0316268267
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication Date: September 14th, 2021
Pages: 112
Language: English