Books On Our Site May Not Be Available In-Store
Is This Book In Stock?  Be Savvy!  Check availability details beneath the blue "Add to Cart" button.

Land at the End of the World (Paperback)

Land at the End of the World Cover Image
$15.95
Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 2-5 Days

Description


In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel Garc a M rquez, one of the twentieth century's most original literary voices offers "kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa" (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World--in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa--recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator's evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780393342338
ISBN-10: 0393342336
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
Publication Date: June 25th, 2012
Pages: 222
Language: English