Sharing Shalom (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Sharing Shalom By Danielle Sharkan, Selina Alko (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Danielle Sharkan, Selina Alko (Illustrator)
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


A girl’s community joins hands to fight intolerance and antisemitism in this richly illustrated picture book that sings with hope for young readers.

Leila loves going to Hebrew school and hearing stories of mighty kings and quick-witted queens. Being Jewish is a part of her story, and learning Hebrew connects her to her ancestors. L’dor V’dor! From one generation to the next!

But when Leila’s synagogue gets vandalized, she isn’t sure she wants to be Jewish. It makes her feel different. She doesn’t want to stand out if it means people won’t like her. 

Then Leila’s classmates and community come together to repair the synagogue. This compassionate gesture makes Leila realize that everyone around her is different—and that’s a beautiful thing.

Lyrical text and gorgeous, textured collage art by award-winning illustrator Selina Alko make a powerful statement in this uplifting story based on an event from the author’s childhood. Back matter, including a glossary and an author’s note, provide a springboard for age-appropriate conversations about hate crimes, antisemitism, and bridge-building between cultures.

About the Author


Danielle Sharkan is a former teacher with a background in history, politics, and languages. She has degrees in Political Science and Jewish Studies as well as Middle Eastern Studies and Secondary Education, and taught ESL for ten years. Having grown up in the Chicago suburbs, she now lives with her family in Boulder, Colorado. You can find her on Twitter at @DaniraeShark.

Selina Alko is an award-winning author-illustrator of many books for young readers, including I Is for Immigrants, B Is for Brooklyn, Daddy Christmas & Hanukkah Mama, and The Case for Loving: The Fight for Interracial Marriage. Selina graduated from the School of Visual Arts and lives in Brooklyn. Find her on Instagram @selinaalko.

  • Fans of All Are Welcome and The Proudest Blue and other books celebrating cultural differences
  • Jewish families looking for age-appropriate ways to talk about anti-Semitism 
  • Teachers and librarians in diverse communities and/or communities that have experienced anti-Semitic events
  • Kids in Hebrew school


Product Details
ISBN: 9780823455560
ISBN-10: 0823455564
Publisher: Holiday House
Publication Date: September 17th, 2024
Pages: 32
Language: English