BookPeople is open at limited capacity! Read our in-store shopping guidelines.

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow Series #1) (Paperback)

The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow Series #1) Cover Image
$10.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Nov 25 9:15am
(TEEN FANTASY & SCI F)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Merciful Crow Series series.

Summer 2019 Kids Indie Next List


“In a world dominated by a strict caste system, the Crows struggle to get by, take care of their own, and survive the rampant prejudices of society. Within the first few pages, I was completely caught up in this fully realized world and compelling story where we follow Fie, a daring Crow full of fire and fury, as she tries to carve out a place for herself and her people against all odds. I loved the strong characters, endowed with real fears, desires, and relationships, and the heart-wrenching realities of their world, which often echoed the injustices and inequalities of ours.”
— Shoshana Smith, Flashlight Books, Belmont, CA

Description


Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake—in The Merciful Crow.

"Packed to the teeth with fresh worldbuilding and righteous fury...It's a ride that is wildly fun."—Emily A. Duncan, New York Times-bestselling author of Wicked Saints

"Rich, harrowing, and unafraid to tackle discrimination—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi."—Kirkus, Starred Review

One way or another, we always feed the crows.

A future chieftain

Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.

A fugitive prince

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses—and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns.

A too-cunning bodyguard

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

About the Author


Margaret Owen was born and raised at the end of the Oregon Trail and has worked in everything from thrift stores to presidential campaigns. The common thread between every job can be summed up as: lessons were learned. She now spends her days writing and negotiating a long-term hostage situation with her two monstrous cats. She is the author of the Merciful Crow series. In her free time, she enjoys exploring ill-advised travel destinations and raising money for social justice nonprofits through her illustrations. She resides in Seattle, Washington. You can find her on Twitter @what_eats_owls.

margaret-owen.com

Praise For…


"One of the most exciting, exceptionally crafted fantasy debuts I've ever read. I did not want to leave this world! Absolutely breathtaking."—Claire Legrand, New York Times-bestselling author of Furyborn

"The Merciful Crow is an intense, romantic adventure with unforgettable magic and a ferocious heroine I'd gladly follow down a long, dark road."—Tessa Gratton, author of The Queens of Innis Lear

"The Merciful Crow series will appeal to fans of Leigh Bardugo, Kristin Cashore, Sabaa Tahir and Christelle Dabos (the Mirror Visitor Quartet)." —Publishers Weekly

"A passionate blend of adventure and intrigue wrapped around strong worldbuilding... Memorable and filled with diverse characters with fluid sexualities and identities."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Rich, harrowing, and unafraid to tackle discrimination—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Tomi Adeyemi."—Kirkus, starred review

"Elevated by a fresh dialect-tinged voice and creative world-building that calls to mind issues of today."—Booklist
"An excellent next read for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Kristin Cashore, and Moira Young."—School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250250940
ISBN-10: 1250250943
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication Date: August 18th, 2020
Pages: 400
Series: The Merciful Crow Series