Monstrous: A Transracial Adoption Story (Hardcover)

Monstrous: A Transracial Adoption Story By Sarah Myer Cover Image
$25.99
Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 7-10 Days

Description


"A beautiful, courageous book.”
Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese

A Finalist for the L.A. Times Book Prize in Young Adult Literature

Monstrous is poignant young adult graphic memoir about a Korean-American girl who uses fandom and art-making to overcome racist bullying. Perfect for fans of Almost American Girl!

Sarah has always struggled to fit in. Born in South Korea and adopted at birth by a white couple, she grows up in a rural community with few Asian neighbors. People whisper in the supermarket. Classmates bully her. She has trouble containing her anger in these moments—but through it all, she has her art. She's always been a compulsive drawer, and when she discovers anime, her hobby becomes an obsession.

Though drawing and cosplay offer her an escape, she still struggles to connect with others. And in high school, the bullies are louder and meaner. Sarah's bubbling rage is threatening to burst.

About the Author


Comic artist, writer, and colorist Sarah Myer (they/them) is an Eisner and L.A. Times Book Prize-nominated author of the graphic memoir Monstrous: A Transracial Adoption Story (First Second). Sarah is the illustrator and cover artist of several issues of the comic series Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Saturday Morning Adventures, and was previously the colorist of TMNT vs Street Fighter and TMNT: Saturday Morning Adventures comics, as well as a variant cover artist of TMNT Usagi Yojimbo: WhereWhen. Sarah's other work includes their independent webcomic Cheer Up, Michael!, Hello Kitty & Friends Coloring Book, the Ringo Award-nominated anthology Votes for Women: The Battle for the 19th Amendment, for which they wrote and illustrated the installment “Asian American Exclusion,” and the graphic novel Maker Comics: Create a Costume!. An avid convention attendee since 1999, Sarah has constructed and worn over fifty cosplay costumes and enjoys cooking, weight-lifting, and spending time with their cat Loki when they are not creating comics. Sarah can be found at sarahmyer.net and on Instagram @smyercomics

Praise For…


Nominated for the L.A. Times Book Prize and Eisner Award in the teen categories

Included in the 2023 best-of-the-year lists from YALSA, Kirkus, School Library Journal, Booklist, the Boston Globe, the New York Public Library, the Beat, and more!


"Heartfelt... Misfit readers will take solace in this just as Myer took comfort from Sailor Moon." —Boston Globe

"For fans of Jarrett Krosoczka’s Hey, Kiddo and Robin Ha’s Almost American Girl, this coming-of-age memoir will appeal to youth who are struggling with their identity." —School Library Journal, starred review

"Immersive and engrossing: a beautifully depicted emotional journey." —Kirkus, starred review

"Her powerful memoir is an empathic gift, presented in full technicolor with never-static panels, showcasing raw energy." —Booklist, starred review

"This is a fierce graphic memoir with grit and honesty." —Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review

"Those who stick with the unflinching depictions of the bullying Myer endured will be rewarded with an engaging—and ultimately hopeful—narrative of a young artist developing their own true identity." —Horn Book Magazine, starred review

"Those wrestling with feelings of disconnect from their communities will find validation in this confessional read." —Publishers Weekly

"
The author writes frankly and honestly about the overt racism they dealt with daily and their struggle with their non-binary identity... an alternate title for Monstrous could be Fandom Saved My Life." —the Beat

"
We all have a monster within us, but as Sarah shows us in their story, the best way to fight the monster is with love for each other, and most importantly, ourselves." —Good Comics for Kids



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250268792
ISBN-10: 1250268796
Publisher: First Second
Publication Date: June 27th, 2023
Pages: 272
Language: English