Ghost Book (Hardcover)

Ghost Book By Remy Lai Cover Image
$22.99
Not available to order

September/October 2023 Kids Indie Next List


“This Chinese folklore-inspired story of friendship and visibility left me craving a sequel and enchanted dumplings. Remy Lai writes to kids on their level with a beautiful message of how to sacrifice for others without losing yourself.”
— Maura Juenger, Joseph-Beth Booksellers, Cincinnati, OH

Description


Perfect for fans of Spirited Away, Coco, and Ghosts comes a spooky fantasy graphic novel about the friendship between a girl who can see ghosts and a boy who is stuck between the worlds of the living and the dead.

An Indie Bestseller! An Amazon, School Library Journal, and Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year!


Twelve years ago, the boy and the girl lived. But one was supposed to die.

July Chen sees ghosts. But her dad insists ghosts aren’t real. So she pretends they don’t exist. Which is incredibly difficult now as it's Hungry Ghost month, when the Gates of the Underworld open and dangerous ghosts run amok in the living world. When July saves a boy ghost from being devoured by a Hungry Ghost, he becomes her first ever friend. Except William is not a ghost. He’s a wandering soul wavering between life and death. As the new friends embark on an adventure to return William to his body, they unearth a ghastly truth—for William to live, July must die.

Inspired by Chinese mythology, this dark yet resoundingly hopeful tale about friendship, sacrifice, and the unseen world of ghosts is a dazzling heir to beloved Studio Ghibli classics.

"Absolutely gorgeous and a completely unique adventure. Remy Lai is a master storyteller!" —Christina Soontornvat, two-time Newbery Honor Winner

"Spooky, spellbinding and full of heart!" ―Kayla Miller, bestselling author of Click

"A deliciously spooky, funny adventure." ―Jessica Townsend, bestselling author of The Nevermoor series

About the Author


Remy Lai studied fine arts, with a major in painting and drawing. She was born in Indonesia, grew up in Singapore, and currently lives in Brisbane, Australia, where she writes and draws stories for kids with her two dogs by her side. She is the author of the critically-acclaimed Pie in the Sky, Fly on the Wall, Pawcasso, the Surviving the Wild series, Ghost Book, Read at Your Own Risk, and Chickenpox.

Praise For…


An Indie Bestseller!
An Indie Next List Pick!
A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
An Amazon, School Library Journal, and Chicago Public Library Best Book of the Year
A Little Maverick Graphic Novel Reading List Pick
A 2024 Barnes & Noble Children's & YA Book Awards Nominee


"Absolutely gorgeous and a completely unique adventure. Remy Lai is a master storyteller!" —Christina Soontornvat, two-time Newbery Honor Winner

"Spooky, spellbinding and full of heart!" —Kayla Miller, bestselling author of Click

"A deliciously spooky, funny adventure. I adored this story of friendship, loss, love, and dumplings! July Chen is a kid I would gladly follow to the Underworld and back." —Jessica Townsend, bestselling author of The Nevermoor series

"Lai finds that razor’s edge between life and death, light and dark, fairy tale and ghost story." —The New York Times

* "An entertaining, engaging read with echoes of Miyazaki's film Spirited Away." —Horn Book, starred review

* "Lai navigates profound questions of fate and friendship via Chinese mythology in this playful graphic novel ghost story [with a] richly imagined underworld." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Lai is a master of middle-grade sensibilities . . . An unforgettable adventure full of surprises, laughs, ghosts, and dumplings." —Booklist, starred review

* For kids who eat up graphic novels like Anya’s Ghost, Pilu of the Woods, and Ghosts, Ghost Book will make a perfect addition to their shelves." —BookPage, starred review

* "Ghost Book expertly balances eerie ghoulishness with lighthearted fun for a memorable middle-grade adventure." —Shelf Awareness, starred review

"Fans of Disney’s Coco and Studio Ghibli’s Spirited Away will find this graphic novel filled with humor and love, with unforgettable characters and unbreakable friendships." —BCCB

"A delightful balance of spooky, sweet, and funny." —Kirkus

Praise for
Pawcasso

An ALA Best Graphic Novel for Children * Booklist Editors' Choice Winner * NYPL Best Book of the Year * CPL Best Book of the Year * TLA 2022 Little Maverick Pick

"A skillfully woven story of acceptance and forgiveness." —New York Times Book Review

"It's tail-wagging entertaining!" —Kelly Yang, New York Times bestselling author of Front Desk

* "Brightly colored, inviting artwork." —Booklist, starred review

"Move over, Jeff Kinney . . . Lai’s finger is always precisely on the pulse of kid humor." —Horn Book


Praise for Fly on the Wall

A Best Book of the Year for Kirkus, Booklist, CPL, and SLJl!

“Funny, enthralling, and a great reminder that being a little odd isn’t a bad thing.” —Kayla Miller, author of Click and Camp

"Bright, funny storytelling." —The New York Times Book Review

* "Henry’s character development in this illustrated novel leaves Greg Heffley in the dust." —School Library Journal, starred review


Praise for Pie in the Sky

Winner of the Sid Fleischman Award for Humor! A Parents Magazine Best Kids Book of the Year! A NYPL Best Book of the Year! An NPR Best Book of the Year! A Horn Book Best Book of the Year!

"
Heartwarming and rib-tickling." —Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

* “Perfect for fans of Gene Luen Yang and Victoria Jamieson.” —Shelf Awareness, starred review



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250810410
ISBN-10: 1250810418
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: August 15th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English