The Melancholy of Summer (Hardcover)

The Melancholy of Summer By Louisa Onomé Cover Image
$19.99
Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 7-10 Days

Description


After her parents go on the run, a teenage girl placed in the care of a cousin she barely knows learns to trust and open up in The Melancholy of Summer, a lyrical YA contemporary coming-of-age story by Louisa Onomé

Doesn’t she see? I can do this on my own.


Summer Uzoma is fine. Sure, her parents went on the run after they were accused of committing a crime, leaving her behind. Sure, she’s been alternating stays with her friends’ families. Sure, she sometimes still secretly visits her old home. And sure, she has trouble talking about any of this. But she’s fine. She has her skateboard and her bus pass. She just has to turn eighteen in a few weeks and then she’ll really and truly be free.

So it’s extra annoying when a nosy social worker gets involved. Summer doesn’t expect any relative to be able to take her in, so she’s very surprised to hear that she’ll now be living with her cousin Olu—someone she hasn’t seen in years, who’s a famous singer in Japan last she heard, and who’s not much older than Summer.

Life with Olu is awkward for many reasons—not least of all because Olu has her own drama to deal with. But with her cousin and friends’ efforts, maybe Summer can learn to trust people enough to let them in again?

About the Author


Louisa Onomé is the Nigerian Canadian author of the critically acclaimed young adult novel Like Home. She holds a BA in professional writing from York University. When she is not writing, her hobbies include picking up languages she may never use, crying over her favorite video games, and perfecting her skin-care routine. She currently resides in the Toronto area.

Praise For…


"...tenderhearted novel of family and trust...a pacey, well-crafted character study that explores one teenager’s pursuit of safety and home amid life-changing circumstances." Publishers Weekly

"The nuanced portrayal of the effects of emotional distress is deeply layered in this well-paced novel... An engaging read that explores the impact of trauma and the uncertainties of young adulthood." —Kirkus

"Onomé blends teen angst with the harsh realities of minor emancipation in a heartfelt novel with a moving ending. Hand to readers who enjoyed Connie King's Sleeping in My Jeans and Marina Budhos' We Are All We Have." —Booklist

"...will resonate with students who identify with the struggles associated with the transition to adulthood." —SLJ

"Louisa Onomé has done it again! THE MELANCHOLY SUMMER compassionately and with beautiful nuance, captures the desperation in needing to be both lost and found, seen and invisible. As one can expect from her, Onomé will capture your breath and then release it back to you in this achingly honest and deeply confessional narrative as Summer skateboards her way to self-acceptance and freedom.” —Lane Clarke, author of Love Times Infinity



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250823564
ISBN-10: 1250823560
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publication Date: May 30th, 2023
Pages: 320
Language: English