BookPeople is OPEN to the public in a limited capacity More information here!

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Lucky Luna (Hardcover)

Lucky Luna Cover Image
$16.99
Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 5-7 Days

Description


Award-winning author Diana López returns to her middle-grade sweet spot in this delightful novel perfect for fans of Wendy Mass, Charise Mericle Harper, and Angela Cervantes.

You can choose your friends, but you can't choose your primas...Luna Ramos has more cousins than she can count, and even though her mom says that makes her lucky, Luna knows that every time she gets in trouble, one of her primas is responsible.But when Luna locks her know-it-all cousin Claudia in the bathroom at their cousin's quinceañera, Luna has no one to blame but herself. Her punishment? No hats for a whole month-which is a big deal because Luna's always been embarrassed by her hair, and hats make her feel more comfortable.To make things even worse, Claudia is transferring to her school, and now she'll have a chance to tattle on Luna even more than she already does! Her grandmother offers some sage advice, but since it's in Spanish, Luna gets it all wrong, and when the kids at school begin making fun of Claudia, Luna must decide what matters more: family or her reputation.

About the Author


Diana López is the author of Confetti Girl and several other books for young readers. She also has several primas, who she gets along with most of the time. Currently, Diana teaches literature and creative writing at the University of Houston in Victoria, Texas. For more information about Diana and her books, visit her online at dianalopezbooks.com.

Praise For…


Praise for Lucky Luna:"Sweetly poignant... Luna is a great character for young readers who feel like they can't catch a break or maybe don't fit in all the time." -- Booklist"Lopez depicts a modern-day Latina who embraces her culture even if she is learning about it and doesn't speak Spanish. Readers will find themselves chuckling at the situations Luna gets herself into and smiling at the satisfying ending." -- School Library Journal"[A] heartwarming tale of growing up Latina... with endearing messages about the bond between family." -- School Library ConnectionPraise for Ask My Mood Ring How I Feel:A VOYA Top Shelf for Middle School Readers Pick2nd Place Winner of the 2014 NACCS Tejas Award for Young Adult FictionA Bank Street College Children's Book Committee Best Book of 2014 Selection"A funny and heartfelt story... Balancing the heavy subject matter with generous doses of humor and an authentic young teen voice, López crafts a story that blends family and middle school drama successfully." -- Kirkus Reviews"López (Choke) skillfully balances emotional moments with humorous ones, offering an honest portrait of a family under strain. Chia's clever, cheeky voice and a strong cast contribute to an inspiring story about developing "a special kind of bravery." -- Publishers Weekly"The many characters in Chia's life are individually and lovingly drawn... Readers will feel like Chia's family and friends could do anything as long as they stick together-and they may be right." -- Booklist"Chia's voice shines... A fast-moving, absorbing read about how one person's illness can affect the whole family in many different ways." -- School Library Journal"An honest, sometimes uncomfortable, but always hopeful look at how cancer affects family... Erika's story is full of the healing power of love." -- Guadalupe Garcia McCall, author of Summer of the Mariposas and Pura Belpre Award winner Under the Mesquite Tree"[This is a] story of struggle, of surviving, and what is oftentimes a difficult healing, but a healing nevertheless. My own promesa after reading Lopez's wonderful novel: to run alongside my wife and hundreds of thousands of others on that day of the Race for the Cure from here henceforth." -- René Saldaña Jr., author of A Good Long Way"There is much substance and a powerful story here." -- Library Media ConnectionPraise for Confetti Girl:"This debut novel puts at its center a likable girl facing realistic problems on her own terms." -- Booklist"An appealing coming-of-age novel set in a traditional Mexican-American town." Kirkus Reviews"López delicately displays the power of optimism and innovation during difficult times." -- Publishers Weekly

Praise for Ask My Mood Ring How I Feel:

A VOYA Top Shelf for Middle School Readers Pick
2nd Place Winner of the 2014 NACCS Tejas Award for Young Adult Fiction
A Bank Street College Children's Book Committee Best Book of 2014 Selection

"A funny and heartfelt story... Balancing the heavy subject matter with generous doses of humor and an authentic young teen voice, López crafts a story that blends family and middle school drama successfully." -- Kirkus Reviews

"López (Choke) skillfully balances emotional moments with humorous ones, offering an honest portrait of a family under strain. Chia's clever, cheeky voice and a strong cast contribute to an inspiring story about developing "a special kind of bravery." -- Publishers Weekly

"The many characters in Chia's life are individually and lovingly drawn... Readers will feel like Chia's family and friends could do anything as long as they stick together-and they may be right." -- Booklist

"Chia's voice shines... A fast-moving, absorbing read about how one person's illness can affect the whole family in many different ways." -- School Library Journal

"An honest, sometimes uncomfortable, but always hopeful look at how cancer affects family... Erika's story is full of the healing power of love." -- Guadalupe Garcia McCall, author of Summer of the Mariposas and Pura Belpre Award winner Under the Mesquite Tree

"[This is a] story of struggle, of surviving, and what is oftentimes a difficult healing, but a healing nevertheless. My own promesa after reading Lopez's wonderful novel: to run alongside my wife and hundreds of thousands of others on that day of the Race for the Cure from here henceforth." -- René Saldaña Jr., author of A Good Long Way

"There is much substance and a powerful story here." -- Library Media Connection


Praise for Confetti Girl:

"This debut novel puts at its center a likable girl facing realistic problems on her own terms." -- Booklist

"An appealing coming-of-age novel set in a traditional Mexican-American town." Kirkus Reviews

"López delicately displays the power of optimism and innovation during difficult times." -- Publishers Weekly

Praise for Lucky Luna:"Sweetly poignant... Luna is a great character for young readers who feel like they can't catch a break or maybe don't fit in all the time." -- Booklist"Lopez depicts a modern-day Latina who embraces her culture even if she is learning about it and doesn't speak Spanish. Readers will find themselves chuckling at the situations Luna gets herself into and smiling at the satisfying ending." -- School Library Journal"[A] heartwarming tale of growing up Latina... with endearing messages about the bond between family." -- School Library ConnectionPraise for Ask My Mood Ring How I Feel:A VOYA Top Shelf for Middle School Readers Pick2nd Place Winner of the 2014 NACCS Tejas Award for Young Adult FictionA Bank Street College Children's Book Committee Best Book of 2014 Selection"A funny and heartfelt story... Balancing the heavy subject matter with generous doses of humor and an authentic young teen voice, López crafts a story that blends family and middle school drama successfully." -- Kirkus Reviews"López (Choke) skillfully balances emotional moments with humorous ones, offering an honest portrait of a family under strain. Chia's clever, cheeky voice and a strong cast contribute to an inspiring story about developing "a special kind of bravery." -- Publishers Weekly"The many characters in Chia's life are individually and lovingly drawn... Readers will feel like Chia's family and friends could do anything as long as they stick together-and they may be right." -- Booklist"Chia's voice shines... A fast-moving, absorbing read about how one person's illness can affect the whole family in many different ways." -- School Library Journal"An honest, sometimes uncomfortable, but always hopeful look at how cancer affects family... Erika's story is full of the healing power of love." -- Guadalupe Garcia McCall, author of Summer of the Mariposas and Pura Belpre Award winner Under the Mesquite Tree"[This is a] story of struggle, of surviving, and what is oftentimes a difficult healing, but a healing nevertheless. My own promesa after reading Lopez's wonderful novel: to run alongside my wife and hundreds of thousands of others on that day of the Race for the Cure from here henceforth." -- René Saldaña Jr., author of A Good Long Way"There is much substance and a powerful story here." -- Library Media ConnectionPraise for Confetti Girl:"This debut novel puts at its center a likable girl facing realistic problems on her own terms." -- Booklist"An appealing coming-of-age novel set in a traditional Mexican-American town." Kirkus Reviews"López delicately displays the power of optimism and innovation during difficult times." -- Publishers Weekly


Product Details
ISBN: 9781338232738
ISBN-10: 1338232738
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: August 28th, 2018
Pages: 192
Language: English