BookPeople is open at limited capacity! Read our in-store shopping guidelines.

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Dragon Ops (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Dragon Ops Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Nov 25 9:15am
(KID:SIGNED BOOKS)

Staff Reviews


"I remember days laying in bed and wishing REALLY hard that I could just step into my videogame. It would be much easier to save villagers or catch a Sandshrew than to have to just sit there and do Math homework. Dragon Ops features Ian getting to live every gamers dream. He is able to be one of the first people to play Dragon Ops a fully augmented reality version of his favorite MMORPG Fields of Fantasy!  I enjoyed this one! It was very sincere and felt like it treated the young protagonists with respect which I always enjoy in this type of fiction. I recommend this to fans of Homework and Hallpasses and Sword Art Online."

— Will B.

Description


An action-packed adventure set in a futuristic world from the beloved author of The Once and Future Geek, perfect for fans of Wings of Fire and Dragonwatch. Now in paperback!

One wrong move, and it's game over.

Welcome to DRAGON OPS, the world's first augmented-reality video-game theme park. Set on a once-deserted island, our three beta players--classic gamer geek Ian; his adventure-seeking sister, Lily; and their too-cool-for-gaming cousin, Derek--have been lucky enough to score an invite to play before the fully immersive experience opens to the public.

But once inside, they find themselves trapped in a game taken over by a rogue AI dragon called Atreus, and suddenly the stakes go beyond the virtual world. With no cheat codes, guidebooks, save points, or do-overs, they'll need all their cunning and video-game hacks to beat the game...and survive in real life.

Action-packed and unputdownable, Dragon Ops will thrill gamers and reluctant readers alike with high-tech adventure and electrifying twists and turns.

About the Author


Mari Mancusi always wanted a dragon as a pet. Unfortunately, the fire insurance premiums proved a bit too large and her house a bit too small, so she chose to write about them instead. As a former Emmy Award-winning TV news producer, she now works as a full-time author, having published over two dozen books for kids, teens, and adults. When not writing, Mari enjoys traveling, cosplay, watching cheesy (and scary) horror movies, and playing video games. A graduate of Boston University, she lives in Austin, Texas, with her husband, Jacob, daughter, Avalon, and their two dogs. Visit her at marimancusi.com or follow her @marimancusi.

Praise For…


Praise for Dragon Ops:

"Even reluctant readers are likely to find something to keep them engaged. . . . A fun, fast-paced read for video game fans, adventurers, and fantasy readers. Highly recommended."—School Library Journal

"With this adventure, Mancusi (Geeks and the Holy Grail) employs common gaming tropes, interweaving fantasy and mundane elements to create a world that feels familiar and yet enjoyably dangerous. The concepts--rogue AIs, theme parks gone haywire--may be well visited, but Mancusi successfully delivers a sense of urgency to her entertaining tale."
Publishers Weekly

Praise for The Once and Future Geek:

"A highly imaginative twist on the legend of King Arthur, complete with time travel, programming, and fierce friendships, The Camelot Code is the perfect pick for tweens who love medieval lore and geek culture in equal measure!"—Christina Soontornvat, author of The Changelings series

"A wholesome, modern twist on the classic legend that could provide a gateway for newer readers and fun for the gaming set."
Kirkus Reviews

"Cinematic and epic in scale... A delightfully unexpected amount of detail from Arthurian lore... Fast-paced, downright fun novel. Certainly not the first retelling of the King Arthur legend, this start to a promising series is not only cleverly plotted but also has enough unique elements to elevate if from the rest."
Booklist

"Dashes of romance, bullying, social anxiety, family stresses, commentary on middle school social structure, and bits of history and Arthurian lore all combine to create a thought-provoking adventure story... Blending elements of several genres, this story will be appealing to many different types of readers."
School Library Journal

"Arthurian legends just leveled up in this hilariously geeky, modern, and clever take on The Sword in the Stone. A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court meets Ready Player One for the middle-grade set."—Julie Leung, author of the Mice of the Round Table series

"Boys and girls will ditch their video games and be sucked into the delightful world of (future) King Arthur and his unlikely saviors, Sophie and Stu. An absolute delight!"
Jen Calonita, author of the Fairy Tale Reform School series

"Imagine The Sword in the Stone with a dash of Freaky Friday and a pinch of World of Warcraft--this funny, fast-paced adventure is chicken soup for the geek's soul."—Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos, authors of The Adventurers Guild
Product Details
ISBN: 9781368040907
ISBN-10: 136804090X
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 12th, 2020
Pages: 384