BookPeople is open at limited capacity! Read our in-store shopping guidelines.

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Fates and Furies (Large Print / Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Fates and Furies Cover Image
Unavailable. Orders will be auto-cancelled.

Staff Reviews


"I was completely absorbed by this novel. Groff's linguistic rhythm is entrancing. Her sentences beat like waves, pulling the reader deep into Mathilde and Lotto's complicated, passionate relationship. Sweeping across decades of their marriage, told first from the husband's perspective, then the wife's, this story sinks the reader into the shifting romance, nuanced loyalty, bold secrets, private masks, and willful misconceptions that make up a long time union. The lives of her characters are rich mysteries uncovered in surprising turns. How well can you ever know your beloved? In Fates and Furies, we are lucky to be voyeurs to both versions of Mathilde and Lotto's life together. Fans of Claire Messud and Ann Beattie will enjoy the dark, literary arches of this engrossing tale. "

— Julie W.

October 2015 Indie Next List


“Fates and Furies is an engrossing and complex novel about a seemingly perfect marriage of beautiful people, told in two parts. The first is a gentle introduction to Lotto and Mathilde, their marriage, and their friends and family; the second, a violent storm to wash away all you thought you knew. Groff crafts amazing, shocking sentences and brilliantly reveals the lies and deceit hiding behind the perfect facade. It's a book you will finish too quickly and then want to tell your friends about. Very highly recommended.”
— Tarah Jennings (W), Mitzi's Main Street Books, Rapid City, SD

Description


From the award-winning, "New York Times "bestselling author of "The Monsters of Templeton" and "Arcadia," an exhilarating novel about marriage, creativity, art, and perception.
"Fates and Furies" is a literary masterpiece that defies expectation. A dazzling examination of a marriage, it is also a portrait of creative partnership written by one of the best writers of her generation.
Every story has two sides. Every relationship has two perspectives. And sometimes, it turns out, the key to a great marriage is not its truths but its secrets. At the core of this rich, expansive, layered novel, Lauren Groff presents the story of one such marriage over the course of twenty-four years.
At age twenty-two, Lotto and Mathilde are tall, glamorous, madly in love, and destined for greatness. A decade later, their marriage is still the envy of their friends, but with an electric thrill we understand that things are even more complicated and remarkable than they have seemed. With stunning revelations and multiple threads, and in prose that is vibrantly alive and original, Groff delivers a deeply satisfying novel about love, art, creativity, and power that is unlike anything that has come before it. Profound, surprising, propulsive, and emotionally riveting, it stirs both the mind and the heart.

About the Author


Lauren Groff is the "New York Times "bestselling author of two novels, "The Monsters of Templeton" and "Arcadia," as well as the celebrated short-story collection "Delicate Edible Birds." She graduated from Amherst College and has an MFA in fiction from the University of Wisconsin Madison. Her work has appeared in a number of magazines, including "The New Yorker," "Harper's," and "The Atlantic," and in several of the annual "The Best American Short Stories" anthologies. Groff's fiction has won the Paul Bowles Prize for Fiction, the Medici Book Club Prize, the PEN/O. Henry Award, and the Pushcart Prize, and has been shortlisted for the Orange Prize for New Writers and a finalist for the "L.A. Times" Book Prize.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781410484949
ISBN-10: 1410484947
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Press
Publication Date: December 23rd, 2015
Language: English