Out of My Mind (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Out of My Mind Cover Image
$9.99
On Our Shelves Now
19 on hand, as of Nov 19 1:40pm
(KID:CHAPTER BOOKS)

Staff Reviews


"10 year old Melody has never spoken a word - even though she knows more words than most people. But cerebral palsy has trapped her words inside a body that doesn't work. But now, for the first time, Melody finds a way to let her words escape the fish bowl of her mind. The only obstacle now is that not everyone is ready to accept her for the brilliant relatively normal kid she really is."

— Meghan G.

Spring 2010 Kids' Next List


“This is the touching story of a gifted child,trapped in a barely working body. Melody, age 11, struggles to communicate with a world of children and adults most of whom can't see beyond her physical limitations. A provocative change of pace for Sharon Draper.”
— Peter Moore, The Blue Marble, Fort Thomas, KY

Description


Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list!

“If there’s one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it.” —Denver Post
“A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes.” —School Library Journal (starred review)
“Unflinching and realistic.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Uplifting…This moving novel will makes activists of us all.” —Booklist (starred review)

From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio’s Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can’t walk. She can’t talk. She can’t write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She’s the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people—her teachers, her doctors, her classmates—dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can’t tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she’s determined to let everyone know it…somehow.

About the Author


Sharon M. Draper is a New York Times bestselling author and recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award honoring her significant and lasting contribution to writing for teens. She has received the Coretta Scott King Award for both Copper Sun and Forged by Fire, and was most recently awarded the Charlotte Huck Award for Stella by Starlight. Her novel Out of My Mind has won multiple awards and was a New York Times bestseller for over three years. She lives in Cincinnati, Ohio, where she taught high school English for twenty-five years and was named National Teacher of the Year. Visit her at SharonDraper.com.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781416971719
ISBN-10: 1416971718
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 1st, 2012
Pages: 320
Language: English