Shelly Struggles to Shine (The Derby Daredevils Book #2) (Paperback)

Shelly Struggles to Shine (The Derby Daredevils Book #2) By Kit Rosewater, Sophie Escabasse (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Kit Rosewater, Sophie Escabasse (Illustrator)
$8.99
Backordered. Place an order and we will let you know when to expect your book.

Description


Perfect for fans of Roller Girl, Shelly Struggles to Shine, book #2 in Kit Rosewater’s Derby Daredevil series explores what it means to be a team player.
 
Now part of the official junior roller derby league, the Derby Daredevils are ready to compete in their first tournament. Kenzie writes new game plays. Bree works on her speed. Tomoko sharpens her blocking skills. And Jules fearlessly hip checks everyone in sight. But Shelly isn’t sure what she’s best at.
 
In hopes of taking home the tournament’s Star Skater award, Shelly designs extra-special gear for the Daredevils. But not everything works as well as Shelly imagined, and she can’t get the team on board. Without the gear, how will Shelly shine on the track?
 
With high-energy illustrations from Sophie Escabasse and lots of roller derby action, Shelly Struggles to Shine explores individuality while hitting home what it really means to be part of a team.
 
Also Available:
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team
The Derby Daredevils: Tomoko Takes the Lead
 

About the Author


Kit Rosewater has a master’s degree in children’s literature from Hollins University. The Derby Daredevils is her debut book. She lives in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Praise For…


"Escabasse's cartoon illustrations continue to delight. Rosewater throws in subtle points about making assumptions and communicating one's feelings, and champions the truth that everyone has a unique perspective and brings. . ."
— Booklist

"Readers will enjoy this welcoming and acutely relatable sequel."
— School Library Journal


Product Details
ISBN: 9781419749759
ISBN-10: 1419749757
Publisher: Amulet Paperbacks
Publication Date: September 21st, 2021
Pages: 192
Language: English
Series: Derby Daredevils