BookPeople is open at limited capacity! Read our in-store shopping guidelines.

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Other Words for Home (Large Print / Library Binding)

Staff Pick Badge
Other Words for Home Cover Image
$21.99
Backordered. Place an order and we will let you know when to expect your book.

Staff Reviews


"In Warga's unforgettable novel in verse, beautifully spare language captures the emotional journey of a Syrian girl adjusting to an unfamiliar land, offering a luminous and poignant portrayal of the refugee experience."

— Meghan

Summer 2019 Kids Indie Next List


Other Words for Home is such an important book and should be required reading for every student at a middle-grade reading level. The character of Jude teaches us empathy as we read what it’s like to be a young teenager from Syria trying to fit in in America. She tries to learn the English language while tackling discrimination and classmates unwilling to understand and accept her, including her cousin of the same age. Jasmine Warga has created a story that is both powerful and gentle, big but full of small moments, a happy but sad story that will live in your heart.”
— Marilyn Robbins, BookBar, Denver, CO

Description


Newbery Honor Book

A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed.

Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives.

At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before.

But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is.

This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781432878962
ISBN-10: 1432878964
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Thorndike Striving Reader
Publication Date: September 9th, 2020
Language: English