BookPeople is OPEN to the public in a limited capacity More information here!

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

The Rock Hole (Paperback)

The Rock Hole Cover Image
By Reavis Wortham, Joe Lansdale (Introduction by)
$12.99
On Our Shelves Now
On hand as of Jun 18 8:18am
(FICT:MYSTERY)

Description


"An unpretentious gem written to the hilt and harrowing in its unpredictability."--Kirkus Reviews STARRED review

The first book in the Texas Red River Mystery series, The Rock Hole is the gripping story of a rural community shaken to its core by a killer, and the man who will stop at nothing to protect his own...

When your family's safety is threatened, what wouldn't you do to defend them?

Lamar County, Texas: Summer, 1964. Life is idyllic for ten-year-old Top Parker, who has come to live with his grandparents in the small, rural town of Center Springs. Yet while Top runs the woods and countryside with his near twin cousin, Pepper, his Grandpa Ned--a small town constable--witnesses the spreading menace of a deranged killer. Out of his element, Ned reaches out to neighboring law enforcement and then the FBI.

Local news sources tag the budding serial killer "The Skinner," and the label is chillingly accurate. Beginning with the torture and killing of small animals, the monster quickly moves to humans, displaying their mutilated corpses as gruesome trophies, with no apparent pattern to grab hold of. Lamar County cowers. Meanwhile, Constable Ned is convinced that a vendetta is involved, and though the why of it is murky, he can no longer deny that something horrific and dangerous is heading for the Parkers. Now the law can't help him, and he must use whatever means necessary to protect himself and his family.

Is Ned up to the fight of his life?

Set in the Texas panhandle and perfect for fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson, The Rock Hole is a riveting mystery that explores the worst--and best--parts of humanity.

Top 12 Mysteries of 2011 by Kirkus Reviews
Finalist in the Benjamin Franklin Awards, Mystery



Product Details
ISBN: 9781464214554
ISBN-10: 1464214557
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date: October 6th, 2020
Pages: 368
Language: English