Heap House: Book One (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Heap House: Book One By Edward Carey Cover Image
Not available to order.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Iremonger Trilogy series.

Staff Reviews

“I wasn’t expecting a kids’ version of I, Claudius, which pleased me
irrationally. I looked around my house for my birth object, and realized
it was my Cat in the Hat Dictionary, which I’ve had since I was a baby.
I may bring it to Edward Carey’s reading next week to show him.
Excellent, creepy, quite Victorian. Everything perfect.”

— Jan


Young Clod Iremonger and his eccentric family, the “kings of mildew, moguls of mold,” made their fortune from this collected detritus. The Iremongers are an odd old family, each the owner of the birth object they must keep with them at all times. Clod is perhaps the oddest of all—his gift and his curse is that he can hear all of the objects of Heap House whispering.   Yes, a storm is brewing over Heap House and the house’s many objects are showing strange signs of life. Clod is on the cusp of being “trousered” and married off (unhappily) to his cousin Pinalippy when he meets the plucky orphan servant Lucy Pennant, with whose help he begins to uncover the dark secrets of his family’s empire.   The first installment of the Iremonger Trilogy, Heap House introduces readers to a gloriously imagined dark world whose inhabitants come alive on the page—and in Edward Carey’s fantastical illustrations. Heap House is a book that will appeal to fans of Neil Gaiman, Roald Dahl and Mervyn Peake, young and old alike. Mystery, romance, and the perils of the Heaps await!

About the Author

Edward Carey is the author and illustrator of two novels for adults, Observatory Mansions and Alva and Irva, which was longlisted for the IMPAC Literary Award. The Iremonger Trilogy is his first work for young readers. Born in England, he now lives with his wife, Elizabeth McCracken, and their two children in Austin, Texas, where he wrote the Iremonger Trilogy.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781468309539
ISBN-10: 1468309536
Publisher: Amulet Books
Publication Date: October 15th, 2014
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: Iremonger Trilogy