Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Nothing Short of Dying: A Clyde Barr Novel (Hardcover)

Nothing Short of Dying: A Clyde Barr Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Clyde Barr Novel series.


Hailed by bestselling writer William Kent Krueger as “the year’s best thriller debut,” this furiously paced ride into harm’s way features a drifter with lethal skills, whose mission to rescue his abducted sister pits him against a ruthless meth kingpin and his army of killers.

Sixteen years. That’s how long Clyde Barr has been away from Colorado’s thick forests, alpine deserts, and craggy peaks, running from a past filled with haunting memories. But now he’s back, having roamed across three continents as a hunter, adventurer, soldier of fortune, and most recently, unjustly imprisoned convict. And once again, his past is reaching out to claim him.

By the light of a flickering campfire, Clyde receives a frantic phone call from his sister Jen. No sooner has she pleaded with him to come rescue her than the line goes dead. Clyde doesn’t know how much time he has, or where Jen is located, or even who has her. All he knows is that nothing short of dying will stop him from saving her.

Joining Clyde in his against-all-odds quest is a young woman named Allie whose motivations for running this gauntlet are fascinatingly complex. As the duo races against the clock, it is Allie who gets Clyde to see what he has become and what he can still be.

Vivid with the hues and scents of Colorado’s backcountry, and thought-provoking in its exploration of how past, present, and future collide to test resolve, Nothing Short of Dying is, above all, a propulsive, action-driven race against the clock.

About the Author

Erik Storey is a former ranch hand, wilderness guide, dogsled musher, and hunter. He spent his childhood summers growing up on his great-grandfather’s homestead or in a remote cabin in Colorado’s Flat Tops wilderness. He has earned a number of sharpshooter and marksman qualifications. He is the author of three Clyde Barr novels, Nothing Short of Dying, A Promise to Kill, and the forthcoming Leave No One Alive. He and his family live in Grand Junction, Colorado.

Praise For…

“A nerve-wracking, nail-biting quest … A roller-coaster of a read, fast-paced with surprising twists and turns … Original. Absorbing. Suspenseful. Full of action. Plausible. Realistic. A very well-written work marked by truly exceptional backstory development … All this plus the author truly knows and loves Colorado’s wilderness and writes about it beautifully.”
—Washington Times

“Erik Storey’s writing is exceptional. This is a splendid debut, harsh and gripping throughout.”
The Times (of London)

“Will become a worldwide sensation.”
—Daily Mail

“The tough-as-they-come hero [is the creation of] a first time novelist who really knows how to handle himself in these thickets…Storey knows and loves this rugged territory.”
New York Times Book Review

“Jump on the Clyde Barr train now; you’ll have less catching up to do later.”

“Immensely enjoyable."

“The book doesn’t just hurry, it hurtles.”
—Huffington Post

“Pretty damn good … crisp, in-your-face dialogue and vivid action.”

“Adrenaline-fueled… bushels of violence.”
—Publishers Weekly

“A novel that belongs next to those of Jeffrey Deaver and Lee Child, but that simultaneously heralds the arrival of a new voice that will breathe new air into tough guy literature with its knack for violence, unexpected humor, and love for wild, natural spaces.”
Crimespree Magazine

"Perfectly paced and beautifully written.”
The Real Book Spy

"May be the year's best debut thriller. It leaps at you like a wolf."
—William Kent Krueger, New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author of Ordinary Grace and Heaven's Keep

“Very, very good. It’s all here."
Lee Child, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Make Me and other books in the Jack Reacher series

"Furious, non-stop action."
C.J. Box, New York Times bestselling author of Badlands and Off the Grid

"Great action scenes, fast pacing, and well-drawn characters.”
Nelson Demille, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Lion’s Game and Nightfall

“A whirlwind debut that sucks readers in and keeps them spinning.”
—Lori Armstrong, author of Hallowed Ground

"This man is a born storyteller!”
Jeffery Deaver, #1 international bestselling author of The Bone Collector and The Coffin Dancer

“Grandly cinematic…a modern-day Bonnie and Clyde.”
Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist

“A thrill ride—buckle up and hang on.”
Craig Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of the Longmire Mysteries, basis of the Netflix drama Longmire

“Barr is the baddest of them all.”
Scott Sigler, New York Times bestselling author of Contagious and Alive

“Storey's somebody to watch.”
Robert Ferrigno, New York Times bestselling author of The Horse Latitudes and Prayers for the Assassin

Gritty…authentic…a terrific page-turner.”
Howard Roughan, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Truth or Die and Honeymoon, and author of The Up and Comer

“Highly recommended!”
Kira Peikoff, author of Living Proof and No Time to Die

Product Details
ISBN: 9781501124143
ISBN-10: 1501124145
Publisher: Scribner
Publication Date: August 16th, 2016
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: A Clyde Barr Novel