BookPeople is OPEN to the public in a limited capacity More information here!

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Nothing Short of Dying: A Clyde Barr Novel (Mass Market)

Nothing Short of Dying: A Clyde Barr Novel Cover Image
Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 5-7 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Clyde Barr Novel series.


In the tradition of Lee Child’s Jack Reacher novels and featuring a lethal, ex-mercenary drifter who is most comfortable surviving in the wilderness and who puts his expertise to work racing against the clock to save his sister from a murderous meth kingpin, this “relentless thrill ride hurtles the reader into dark and interesting places” (Robert Ferrigno, New York Times bestselling author).

Sixteen years. That’s how long Clyde Barr has been away from Colorado’s thick forests, alpine deserts, and craggy peaks, running from a past filled with haunting memories. But now he’s back, having roamed across three continents as a hunter, adventurer, soldier of fortune, and, most recently, unjustly imprisoned convict. And once again, his past is reaching out to claim him.

By the light of a flickering campfire, Clyde receives a frantic phone call from his sister Jen. No sooner has she pleaded with him to come rescue her that the line goes dead. Clyde doesn’t know how much time he has, or where Jen is located, or why she needs rescuing. All he knows is that nothing short of dying will stop him from saving her.

Joining Clyde in his against-all-odds quest is a young woman named Allie whose motivations for running this gauntlet are fascinatingly complex. As the duo races against the clock, it’s Allie who gets Clyde to see what he has become and what he can still be.

Vivid with the hues and scents of Colorado’s backcountry, Nothing Short of Dying is, above all, “nothing short of brilliant. It grabs you from page one and simply doesn’t let go” (Jeffery Deaver, author of The Bone Collector).

About the Author

Erik Storey is a former ranch hand, wilderness guide, dogsled musher, and hunter. He spent his childhood summers growing up on his great-grandfather’s homestead or in a remote cabin in Colorado’s Flat Tops wilderness. He has earned a number of sharpshooter and marksman qualifications. He is the author of three Clyde Barr novels, Nothing Short of Dying, A Promise to Kill, and the forthcoming Leave No One Alive. He and his family live in Grand Junction, Colorado.

Praise For…

“A nerve-wracking, nail-biting quest … A roller-coaster of a read, fast-paced with surprising twists and turns … Original. Absorbing. Suspenseful. Full of action. Plausible. Realistic. A very well-written work marked by truly exceptional backstory development … All this plus the author truly knows and loves Colorado’s wilderness and writes about it beautifully.”
—Washington Times

“Erik Storey’s writing is exceptional. This is a splendid debut, harsh and gripping throughout.”
The Times(of London)

"Will become a worldwide sensation."
Daily Mail

“The tough-as-they-come hero [is the creation of] a first time novelist who really knows how to handle himself in these thickets…Storey knows and loves this rugged territory.”
New York Times Book Review

“Jump on the Clyde Barr train now; you’ll have less catching up to do later.”

“Immensely enjoyable."

"The book doesn't just hurry, it hurtles."
Huffington Post

“Pretty damn good … crisp, in-your-face dialogue and vivid action.”

"Adrenaline-fueled . . . bushels of violence."
Publishers Weekly

"Perfectly paced and beautifully written.”
The Real Book Spy

Product Details
ISBN: 9781501160738
ISBN-10: 1501160737
Publisher: Pocket Books
Publication Date: April 25th, 2017
Pages: 416
Language: English
Series: A Clyde Barr Novel