BookPeople is OPEN to the public in a limited capacity More information here!

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Nightbooks Lib/E (Compact Disc)

Nightbooks Lib/E Cover Image
By J. A. White, Kirby Heyborne (Read by)
$49.99
Backordered. Place an order and we will let you know when to expect your book.

Summer 2018 Kids Indie Next List


“Unlike his ‘normal’ sports-loving brother, Alex has always loved monsters and scary stories. His favorite movie? Night of the Living Dead. His favorite hobby? Writing spooky stories. When things at school push him to make a change—to act more ‘normal’—things take a turn toward the unexpected. Because apartment 4E is not what it seems. Alex finds himself in the middle of a story, and a spooky one at that. Can he escape with the help of some new friends, or will he run out of stories first? Dark magic, fairy tales, and witches swirl together in a spellbinding new mystery from J.A. White.”
— Clarissa Murphy, Papercuts J.P., Boston, MA

Description


A boy is imprisoned by a witch and must tell her a new scary story each night to stay alive. This thrilling contemporary fantasy from J. A. White, the acclaimed author of the Thickety series, brings to life the magic and craft of storytelling.

Alex's original hair-raising tales are the only thing keeping the witch Natacha happy, but soon he'll run out of pages to read from and be trapped forever. He's loved scary stories his whole life, and he knows most don't have a happily ever after. Now that Alex is trapped in a true terrifying tale, he's desperate for a different ending--and a way out of this twisted place.

This modern spin on the Scheherazade story is perfect for fans of Coraline and A Tale Dark and Grimm. With interwoven tips on writing with suspense, adding in plot twists, hooks, interior logic, and dealing with writer's block, this is the ideal book for budding writers and all readers of delightfully just-dark-enough tales.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781538551417
ISBN-10: 1538551411
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: July 24th, 2018
Language: English