BookPeople is OPEN to the public in a limited capacity More information here!

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Every Life Is on Fire: How Thermodynamics Explains the Origins of Living Things (Compact Disc)

Every Life Is on Fire: How Thermodynamics Explains the Origins of Living Things Cover Image
$35.00
Backordered. Place an order and we will let you know when to expect your book.

Description


A preeminent physicist unveils a field-defining theory of the origins and purpose of life

Why are we alive? Most things in the universe aren't. And everything that is alive traces back to things that, puzzlingly, weren't.

For centuries, the scientific question of life's origins has confounded us. But in Every Life Is on Fire, physicist Jeremy England argues that the answer has been under our noses the whole time, deep within the laws of thermodynamics. England explains how, counterintuitively, the very same forces that tend to tear things apart assembled the first living systems.

But how life began isn't just a scientific question. We ask it because we want to know what it really means to be alive. So England, an ordained rabbi, uses his theory to examine how, if at all, science helps us find purpose in a vast and mysterious universe.

In the tradition of Viktor Frankl's Man's Search for Meaning, Every Life Is on Fire is a profound testament to how something can come from nothing.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781549133657
ISBN-10: 1549133659
Publisher: Basic Books
Publication Date: September 15th, 2020
Language: English