Shadows of Sherwood (A Robyn Hoodlum Adventure) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Shadows of Sherwood (A Robyn Hoodlum Adventure) By Kekla Magoon Cover Image
Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 7-10 Days

Staff Reviews

"This is Robyn Hood as you're never seen her before! Forced to flee into Sherwood Forest after Governor Crown's coup, she sees what hard lives people lead outside the wealthy Castle District. Determined to find her parents and fight against the governments oppression, she soon becomes Crown's Most Wanted -- along with her band of rebellious friends determined to fight for right. Readers will love this thrilling adventure."

— Meghan G.


For fans of Aru Shah and Tristan Strong comes an action-packed, modern retelling of the Robin Hood myth by award-winning author Kekla Magoon.

"A compelling reboot of the Robin Hood myth." --Rick Riordan, bestselling author of Percy Jackson & the Olympians

The night her parents disappear, twelve-year-old Robyn Loxley must learn to fend for herself. Her home, Nott City, has been taken over by a harsh governor, Ignomus Crown. After fleeing for her life, Robyn has no choice but to join a band of strangers--misfit kids, each with their own special talent for mischief.

Setting out to right the wrongs of Crown’s merciless government, they take their outlaw status in stride. But Robyn can’t rest until she finds her parents. As she pieces together clues from the night they disappeared, Robyn learns that her destiny is tied to the future of Nott City in ways she never expected.

Read all the books in the Robyn Hoodlum series:
Shadows of Sherwood
Rebellion of Thieves
Reign of Outlaws

About the Author

KEKLA MAGOON is the award-winning author of the Robyn Hoodlum series, as well as several young adult novels, including the Coretta Scott King Honor Book How It Went Down and The Rock and the River, for which she received the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award and an NAACP Image Award nomination. She also coauthored X: A Novel (with Ilyasah Shabazz), which was longlisted for the National Book Award and received an NAACP Image Award and a Coretta Scott King Honor. In addition to writing fiction, Kekla visits schools and libraries nationwide and teaches writing at Vermont College of Fine Arts.

Praise For…

"A compelling reboot of the Robin Hood myth." —Rick Riordan, bestselling author of Percy Jackson & the Olympians on Shadows of Sherwood

"What makes Magoon’s book unique. . . Is its accessibility to school-age and intermediate readers. . . This exciting page-turner will undoubtedly be a hit." —School Library Journal, starred review

"This colorful adventure does not easily fit into a genre box, as it combines futuristic elements with fantasy and folklore. . . The adventure and cliffhanging ending will entice readers." —Kirkus Reviews

"Award-winning Magoon’s futuristic alternate-universe reboot of Robin Hood marks the first title in a promising new series. . . The episodic quests call to mind the Percy Jackson adventures and will inspire a new generation to connect with Robin Hood’s timeless tale." —Booklist

"Set in the future and paced with one death-defying escape after another, Magoon’s (How It Went Down) story doesn’t end so much as pause. Readers--and Robyn--must wait until at least the second book in the Robyn Hoodlum series to learn the fate of her parents." —Publishers Weekly

"Magoon cleverly weaves elements of the Robin Hood tale into this futuristic story about social justice, friendship, and identity. The wily kid heroes and thrilling adventures will appeal to young readers." —Horn Book Magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9781619636347
ISBN-10: 1619636344
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publication Date: August 4th, 2015
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: A Robyn Hoodlum Adventure