The Gospel of Peace: A Commentary on Matthew, Mark, and Luke from the Perspective of Nonviolence (Paperback)

The Gospel of Peace: A Commentary on Matthew, Mark, and Luke from the Perspective of Nonviolence By John Dear Cover Image
$34.00
Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 7-10 Days

Description


Long-time activist, author and teacher of nonviolence, Father John Dear offers here the first ever commentary on the Synoptic Gospels from the perspective of active nonviolence, in the tradition of Gandhi and Dr. King. He walks through every line of the three synoptic Gospels pointing out Jesus' practice and teachings of nonviolence each step of the way.

Dear's Jesus is like Gandhi and Dr. King--nonviolent to the core, a disarming, healing presence toward those in need and a revolutionary disrupter of the unjust status quo and a political threat to the ruling authorities who succeed in killing him, only to push Jesus to the heights of nonviolence through his death and resurrection. This original commentary brings a fresh new approach to the Gospels that will help all those who preach and engage in social ministries, and inspire everyone in this time of permanent warfare, gun violence, racism, poverty and climate change.

About the Author


"With the Third World War being fought piecemeal as our Holy Father Pope Francis regularly reminds us, and the violence of handguns and assault weapons daily taking the lives of God's children in the U.S., we Christians need to be reminded that the Gospel of Jesus is about peace. . . . Father John Dear's book [assists] us in becoming blessed peacemakers ourselves." --Bishop John Stowe, OFM Conv., Bishop-President, Pax Christi USA "Prepare to be inspired, as John Dear guides you on a journey into the nonviolent revolution grounded in Jesus and his Way of Love. Along the way, you will encounter anew the steadfast fearlessness of figures like Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Jr., Dorothy Day, and Oscar Romero . . . and find yourself ready to join them in this holy work." --The Most Rev. Michael B. Curry, Presiding Bishop of The Episcopal Church; author, The Power of Love "John Dear's is a beautiful message of peace!"--Anne Lamott, author, Traveling Mercies and Almost Everything "Each time I consult this magnificent commentary for insight into a particular gospel passage, I am drawn further into the nonviolent teachings of Mahatma Gandhi and Martin Luther King, Jr. As John Dear convincingly demonstrates, Jesus was their inspiration. The Gospel of Peace lovingly confronts us all with what it means to follow Jesus in all dimensions of life. It is a master class on Christian discipleship."--The Rt. Rev. Mariann Edgar Budde, Bishop, Episcopal Diocese of Washington, DC.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781626985339
ISBN-10: 1626985332
Publisher: Orbis Books
Publication Date: October 24th, 2023
Pages: 440
Language: English