Books On Our Site May Not Be Available In-Store
Is This Book In Stock?  Be Savvy!  Check availability details beneath the blue "Add to Cart" button.

Captain Pug (The Adventures of Pug) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Captain Pug (The Adventures of Pug) Cover Image
By Laura James, Églantine Ceulemans (Illustrator)
Email or call for price
Hard to Find

Staff Reviews


"Heave ho, mateys! It’s time to hit the waves with the most adorable captain on the high seas. The only problem? “Captain Pug” is terrified of water and would rather sit around and eat jam tarts. What’s a pug to do?"

— Meghan G

Description


On one very ordinary day Pug's nose knows that breakfast is on its way. And with breakfast, come crumbs – but not just any old crumbs, jam tart crumbs. Jam tarts are Pug's favorite food, and he loves nothing more than to share them with his best friend, Lady Miranda. But just before Pug can finish the last jam tart, Lady Miranda picks him up and whisks him away for a sea-faring adventure. Unfortunately for Pug, it turns out that water may be his biggest fear!

To avoid the water, Pug takes a well-timed snack break. But when his brief respite takes an unexpected turn, Pug will have to find his true Captain self and steer a path back home.

This delightful story of friendship is perfect for fans of Diva and Flea.

About the Author


Laura James worked on projects including Veronica Guerin and Slumdog Millionaire before signing herself up for a MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University, England. Her love of all things nautical comes from her dad, a retired naval officer, and the adventures of Pug are based on the antics of her own very silly dog, Brian. Laura lives in Bath, England.

Églantine Ceulemans works in an intuitive way combining humor and sensitivity. She has been published in France but this is Eg's first book with Bloomsbury. Eg lives in Lyon, France.

Praise For…


"Pug is a fun, engaging character, while Lady Miranda is caring and will remind young readers of Fancy Nancy and Eloise. . . . Fans of dogs and animal adventures will have a hard time putting this one down." - starred review, School Library Journal

"Newcomer James creates a quirky, mixed-up setting . . . and Ceulemans’s airy pen-and-ink drawings, accented with peach and bright blue, draw out the story’s physical comedy." - Publishers Weekly

"Offers likable characters in sweet, devoted, and clueless Pug and his privileged young white mistress . . . their silly, simple adventure is sure to please young Anglophiles (and pugophiles)." - Kirkus Reviews

"This charming chapter book will delight young readers ready to tackle longer stories. The breezy tone and adventurous plot will keep the pages turning, while comical illustrations--accented with blue and red--add to the fun. This playful story is sure to make a splash with fans of Alex T. Smith’s Claude books or Kate DiCamillo’s Mercy Watson series." - Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9781681193816
ISBN-10: 1681193817
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Publication Date: March 14th, 2017
Pages: 128
Language: English
Series: The Adventures of Pug