Echoes of Sherlock Holmes: Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon (Hardcover)

Echoes of Sherlock Holmes: Stories Inspired by the Holmes Canon Cover Image
By Laurie R. King (Editor), Leslie S. Klinger (Editor)
$24.95
It's complicated, and may be unavailable. Place an order and we will contact you with the expected arrival date.

Description


In a stunning follow-up to the acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes, Laurie R. King and Leslie S. Klinger present a brand-new anthology of stories inspired by the Arthur Conan Doyle canon.


In this follow-up to the acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes, expert Sherlockians Laurie King and Les Klinger put forth the question: What happens when great writers/creators who are not known as Sherlock Holmes devotees admit to being inspired by Conan Doyle stories? While some are highly-regarded mystery writers, others are best known for their work in the fields of fantasy or science fiction. All of these talented authors, however, share a great admiration for Arthur Conan Doyle and his greatest creations, Sherlock Holmes and Dr. Watson.



To the editors’ great delight, these stories go in many directions. Some explore the spirit of Holmes himself; others tell of detectives themselves inspired by Holmes’s adventures or methods. A young boy becomes a detective; a young woman sharpens her investigative skills; an aging actress and a housemaid each find that they have unexpected talents. Other characters from the Holmes stories are explored, and even non-Holmesian tales by Conan Doyle are echoed. The variations are endless!



Although not a formal collection of new Sherlock Holmes stories—however some do fit that mold—instead these writers were asked to be inspired by the Conan Doyle canon. The results are breathtaking, for fans of Holmes and Watson as well as readers new to Doyle’s writing—indeed, for all readers who love exceptional storytelling.

About the Author


Laurie R. King is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous books, including the Mary Russell-Sherlock Holmes stories. She has won or been nominated for a multitude of prizes, has been chosen as the guest of honor at several crime conventions, and is probably the only writer to have both an Edgar Award and an honorary doctorate in theology. She was inducted into the Baker Street Irregulars in 2010.

Leslie S. Klinger is one of the world’s foremost authorities on Sherlock Holmes. He is the editor of the three-volume The New Annotated Sherlock Holmes. The first two volumes, The Complete Short Stories, won the Edgar for “Best Critical/Biographical” work. He is also the editor of the hugely successful The New Annotated H. P. Lovecraft. Klinger is a member of the Baker Street Irregulars and lives in Malibu, California.

Praise For…


If you are a fan of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's consulting detective series, you owe it to yourself to read this collection. I found myself laughing with delight, and turning pages with trembling fingers, driven to see what came next as each new author spun a tale related, in some way, to Conan Doyle's immortal characters. The reader is sure to be amazed, delighted and entertained from one end of the book to the other.

A most enjoyable and intriguing book

Every fan will find different reasons to cheer. And they'll all marvel at the inventive range of this salute to the greatest of all fictional detectives.

A winner for fans of classic mysteries and a complete joy for Holmes fanatics.

A treasure.

This new anthology will obviously appeal to long-time fans of Holmes, as well as those readers who enjoyed the two earlier collections. If those previous collections passed you by, pick up this latest and experience how Holmes and Watson have influenced such a wide-ranging assortment of authors.

King and Klinger’s strong third Sherlockian anthology features 17 stories from leading authors who draw on Conan Doyle’s work for inspiration. The end result is a rich variety of entries.

Yet another outstanding collection of stories (following the widely acclaimed In the Company of Sherlock Holmes) paying homage to the great detective Sherlock Holmes. A powerhouse of a collection, sure to please even the most particular Sherlockian.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781681772257
ISBN-10: 1681772256
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Publication Date: October 4th, 2016
Pages: 368
Language: English