Dove Season (Jimmy Veeder Fiasco #1) (Paperback)

Dove Season (Jimmy Veeder Fiasco #1) Cover Image
Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 2-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Jimmy Veeder Fiasco series.


Jack Veeder is dying. Soon. And that impending event brings his son Jimmy back to the Imperial Valley of southern California just north of the Calexico/Mexicali border. Jimmy hopes he can spend what time his father has left laughing and reminiscing. But Jack's got one dying request. He needs Jimmy to find a Mexican prostitute named Yolanda. Enlisting the help of his boyhood friend Bobby Maves, the pair stumbles through the violent, the exploited, and the corrupted of Mexicali. It doesn't take long before they're in over their heads. And as Jimmy tries to survive the dangers of the Mexicali underworld, he unwittingly uncovers truths about his father he never imagined, forcing Jimmy to come to terms with the man he thought he knew, and to decide just what sort of man he wants to become. " Johnny Shaw] is excellent at creating a sense of place with a few deft strokes... he moves effortlessly between dark comedy and moments that pack a real emotional punch, and he's got a knack for off-kilter characters who are completely at home in their own personal corners of oddballdom." - Tana French, author of In the Woods, Faithful Place.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781935597643
ISBN-10: 1935597647
Publisher: Amazon Publishing
Publication Date: September 13th, 2011
Pages: 380
Language: English
Series: Jimmy Veeder Fiasco