BookPeople is OPEN to the public in a limited capacity More information here!

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

The Coyote's Bicycle: The Untold Story of Seven Thousand Bicycles and the Rise of a Borderland Empire (Compact Disc)

The Coyote's Bicycle: The Untold Story of Seven Thousand Bicycles and the Rise of a Borderland Empire Cover Image
By Kimball Taylor, Thom Rivera (Read by)
$24.99
Backordered. Place an order and we will let you know when to expect your book.

Description


For readers of Jon Krakauer and Susan Orlean, The Coyote's Bicycle brings to life a never-before-told phenomenon at our southern border, and the human drama of those who would cross.

It wasn't surprising when the first abandoned bicycles were found along the dirt roads and farmland just across the border from Tijuana, but before long they were arriving in droves. The bikes went from curiosity, to nuisance, to phenomenon. But until they caught the eye of journalist Kimball Taylor, only a small cadre of human smugglers--coyotes--and migrants could say how or why they'd gotten there. This is the story of 7,000 bikes that made an incredible journey and one young man from Oaxaca who arrived at the border with nothing, built a small empire, and then vanished.

Taylor follows the trail of the border bikes through some of society's most powerful institutions, and, with the help of an unlikely source, he reconstructs the rise of one of Tijuana's most innovative coyotes. Touching on immigration and globalization, as well as the history of the US/Mexico border, The Coyote's Bicycle is at once an immersive investigation of an outrageous occurrence and a true-crime, rags-to-riches story.



Product Details
ISBN: 9781978650435
ISBN-10: 1978650434
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Publication Date: November 28th, 2018
Language: English