CAROLYN DINGMAN - Cancel the Wedding

  
  

Wednesday, September 17 at 7PM

BookPeople Presents

Debut Author
CAROLYN DINGMAN

speaking & signing
Cancel the Wedding


Fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner will want to join us tonight as novelist Carolyn Dingman shares Cancel the Wedding. When their mother dies, sisters Olivia and Georgia are surprised to discover she wants her ashes spread in the rural southern town she came from but to which she never returned. As Olivia gets to know the town's inhabitants, she begins to peel back the secrets of her mother's early life--truths that force her to question her own future.

About Cancel the Wedding:

A heartfelt tale of one woman's journey to discover the secrets of her mother's hidden past and confront her own uncertain future, this compelling, emotionally resonant novel about the frustrations of blood ties will appeal to fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner.

On the surface, Olivia has it all: a high-powered career, a loving family, and a handsome fiance. She even seems to be coming to terms with her mother Jane's premature death from cancer. But when Jane's final wish is revealed, Olivia and her elder sister, Georgia, are mystified. Their mother rarely spoke of her rural Southern hometown, and never went back to visit--so why does she want them to return to Huntley, Georgia, to scatter her ashes? Jane's request offers Olivia a temporary escape from the reality she's long been denying: she hates her "dream" job, and she's not really sure she wants to marry her groom-to-be. With her fourteen-year-old niece, Logan, riding shotgun, she heads south on a summer road trip looking for answers about her mother. As Olivia gets to know the town's inhabitants, she begins to peel back the secrets of her mother's early life--truths that force her to question her own future. But when Olivia is confronted with a tragedy and finds an opportunity to right a terrible wrong, will it give her the courage to accept her mother's past--and say yes to her own desire to start over?

About Carolyn Dingman:

Carolyn T. Dingman grew up as a nomadic military brat often making up stories that the adults referred to as “lies.” She is now a grown-up and hardly ever lies anymore unless she’s writing fiction where it is considered socially acceptable.

She attended Clemson University in South Carolina, which in no way prepared her for a career in writing, but it did inspire a good deal of the names used in her debut novel, Cancel the Wedding.

Carolyn lives in her adopted hometown of Atlanta with her husband and their two daughters. She volunteers too much, eats too much chocolate, and prefers beer over wine.


In order to have anything signed at a BookPeople event, a copy of the event book must be purchased from BookPeople. If you purchase your book from BookPeople in advance of the event, please save your receipt and present it at the event.

Thank you for supporting Carolyn Dingman & your local independent bookstore!

  
Event date: 
Wednesday, September 17, 2014 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
603 N Lamar Blvd
78703-5413 Austin
us
Cancel the Wedding: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062276728
Availability: Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 2-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - August 5th, 2014

Event Types Terms: