MysteryPeople Presents: J. TODD SCOTT & C.J. HOWELL

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Friday, June 10 at 7PM

MYSTERYPEOPLE PRESENTS

Authors
J. TODD SCOTT & C.J. HOWELL
speaking & signing
The Far Empty & The Hundred Mile View


ABOUT THE FAR EMPTY

As thrilling as it is fresh and literary, The Far Empty is set in the desolate yet austerely beautiful Texas borderlands and told by a long-time federal agent with intimate knowledge of this often violent region.

At the novel’s center are Caleb Ross, a seventeen-year-old boy who is adrift after the sudden disappearance of his mother more than a year ago—and Chris Cherry, a recently hired sheriff’s deputy and former high school football hero who has reluctantly returned to his small hometown of Murfee (based off Alpine, TX). When skeletal remains are discovered in the surrounding badlands, the two are inexorably drawn together, and they must navigate a treacherous maze of drug smuggling, corruption, and murder, in which the legendary local sheriff, Stanford “Judge” Ross—Caleb’s father and Chris's boss—appears to be deeply implicated.

At once fast-paced and poetic, spellbinding and significant, dark and generous of heart, this is a modern Western tale of loss and escape that you won’t soon forget.


ABOUT J. TODD SCOTT

Todd Scott has been a federal agent with the DEA for more than twenty years, working cases investigating international maritime smuggling, domestic meth labs, and Mexican cartels. He has a law degree from George Mason University and is a father of three. A Kentucky native, he now resides in the Southwest, which provided the backdrop for The Far Empty.


ABOUT THE HUNDRED MILE VIEW

A crime thriller set on the Navajo Nation for fans of Tony Hillerman, Craig Johnson and Robert B. Parker.

Agent Jake Keller transfers to a one-man duty station in Gallup, New Mexico from FBI Headquarters in Washington, D.C., with the hope that his soon to be ex-wife—an ambitious Navajo FBI agent—will return to the Navajo reservation so he can win her back. His struggles to fit in as an outsider on the Big Reservation are soon overshadowed by two horrific murders in quick succession. An old man and a teenage girl are found bound and burned alive in ritualistic fire pits some seventy miles apart.

Many believe it’s the work of skinwalkers—the shapeshifters of Navajo lore. But Keller suspects it has something to do with a notorious crystal meth dealer known as the Shaman. Either way, he must stop this evil before someone else dies, maybe even someone he loves.


ABOUT C.J. HOWELL

C.J. Howell spent many years bartending and writing in mountain towns before getting a masterʼs degree in creative writing from the University of Colorado, Boulder. He has published short stories in various literary magazines and his first novel, The Last of the Smoking Bartenders received a starred review and was named a best crime fiction debut of 2014 in Booklist magazine. His latest novel The Hundred Mile View was just released to critical acclaim. He lives in Scottsdale, Arizona with his wife and two beautiful children. For more information, visit his website cj-howell.com; friend him on facebook; follow him on twitter; or contact him at cjhowell.author@gmail.com.

 


If you cannot attend the event and would like to order a signed copy of the book, add the book to your cart and put SIGNED COPY in the comments field at checkout. We ship all over the world!

Thank you for supporting J. Todd Scott, C.J. Howell and your local independent bookstore!  
 
Event date: 
Friday, June 10, 2016 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
603 N. Lamar
Austin, TX 78703
Staff Pick Badge
The Far Empty Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399176340
Availability: Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 2-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - June 7th, 2016

The Hundred Mile View Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9788293326847
Availability: It's complicated, and may be unavailable. Place an order and we will contact you with the expected arrival date.
Published: 280 Steps - March 15th, 2016

Event Types Terms: