PATRICIA SMILEY & MATT COYLE & PUJA GUHA-The Second Goodbye & Wrong Light & The Ahriman Legacy books

 

Wednesday, January 9 at 7 pm

Author
PATRICIA SMILEY & MATT COYLE & PUJA GUHA
speaking & signing
The Second Goodbye & Wrong Light & The Ahriman Legacy books


ABOUT THE SECOND GOODBYE

Assume nothing—that's the touchstone for every homicide investigation Detective Davie Richards undertakes. She approaches her latest case the same way, determined to learn as much about the victim as she does about the killer. But there's nothing about thirty-four-year-old Sara Montaine or her death that makes sense.

Was Sara a saint caring for her dying husband or a gold-digger with a sketchy background? Did she commit suicide or was she murdered? Before her marriage, Sara lived comfortably without any obvious source of income, unusual for an orphan raised in foster care. As Davie digs deeper, she unearths Sara's troubled past and a viper's nest of villains who are willing to kill to keep their secrets hidden.


ABOUT WRONG LIGHT

A hard-boiled PI thriller perfect for fans of Robert Crais’ The Wanted.

Rick Cahill has been hired to protect Naomi Hendrix, a mysterious radio host who’s being stalked by a shadowy figure bent on making her a living—or dead—character in his sick fantasy. But before Rick can help Naomi, he must save himself from the vicious criminals demanding either his help—or his life.

Perfect for hard-boiled PI and Noir fans who like a tainted hero living by his own code.

Naomi Hendrix’s sexy voice hovering over the radio waves isn’t the only thing haunting the Southern California nights. A demented soul is stalking Naomi, hiding in the shadows of the night, waiting for the right moment to snatch her and fulfill a twisted fantasy.

When Naomi’s radio station hires PI Rick Cahill to protect Naomi and track down the stalker, he discovers that Naomi is hiding secrets about her past that could help unmask the man. However, before Rick can extract the truth from Naomi, he is thrust into a missing person’s case—an abduction he may have unwittingly caused. The investigating detective questions Rick’s motives for getting involved and pressures him to stop meddling.

While Rick pursues Naomi’s stalker and battles the police, evil ricochets from his own past and embroils Rick in a race to find the truth about an old nemesis. Is settling the score worth losing everything.


ABOUT THE AHRIMAN LEGACY SERIES

The Ahriman Legacy is a series of Amazon bestselling international thrillers that includes The Spirit of DestructionRoad to Redemption, and Resurgence of the Hunt. The series follows Iranian-American spy Petra Shirazi as she works to halt an assassination plot perpetrated by the Ahriman, an Iranian assassin responsible for a massive terrorist attack on the Suez Canal years earlier. In the subsequent books, the two work together to stop a rogue Russian terrorist attack in Washington DC and put away an illicit arms dealer who has propped up conflict zones around the world. The series showcases a number of international settings based on author Puja Guha's work and travels including New York, Kuwait, Paris, Iran, London, San Francisco, and the African island of Madagascar. 


ABOUT PATRICIA SMILEY

Patricia Smiley is a bestselling mystery author whose short fiction has appeared in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine and Two of the Deadliest, an anthology edited by Elizabeth George. Patricia has taught writing classes at various conferences throughout the US and Canada, and she served on the board of directors of the Southern California Chapter of Mystery Writers of America and as president of Sisters in Crime/Los Angeles.


ABOUT MATT COYLE

When Matt Coyle was fourteen his father gave him The Simple Art of Murder by Raymond Chandler. Since then, Coyle has dedicated his writing career to hard-boiled PI mysteries following the haunted character Rick Cahill. He is a graduate of UC Santa Barbara and lives in San Diego with his yellow lab, Angus. Coyle's debut novel, Yesterday's Echo, won the Anthony Award for Best First Novel, the San Diego Book Award for Best Mystery, and the Ben Franklin Award for Best New Voice in Fiction. Night Tremors was a Bookreporter.com Reviewers' Favorite Book of 2015 and was an Anthony, Shamus, and Lefty Award finalist. Both Dark Fissures and Blood Truth were also Lefty awards finalists and Top Picks on Bookreporter.com, and Blood Truth was nominated for 2018 Shamus award for Best Private Eye novel. Wrong Light is Coyle's fifth Rick Cahill novel.


ABOUT PUJA GUHA

Puja Guha draws upon her experiences from traveling and living around the world. As an independent consultant on international development programs - primarily in Africa and South Asia – she travels to some of the most economically-challenged countries in the world. Along her journey, she's been inspired by politics, culture and setting to write the Ahriman Legacy series, in which she takes readers along with her as her imagination enhances her experiences. She has lived in Kuwait, Toronto, Paris, London, and several American cities including New York, Washington DC, Philadelphia, and San Francisco, most of which have featured prominently in her novels. 


To get a book signed at one of our events, a copy of the event book must be purchased from BookPeople. By purchasing a book from BookPeople, you are not only supporting a local, independent business, but you are also showing publishers that they should continue sending authors to BookPeople.

If you cannot attend the event and would like to order a signed copy of the book, add the book to your cart and put SIGNED COPY in the comments field at checkout. We ship all over the world!

Thank you for supporting Patricia Smiley & Matt Coyle & Puja Guha and your local independent bookstore! 
Event date: 
Wednesday, January 9, 2019 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
Wrong Light (Rick Cahill #5) Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781608093168
Availability: Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 2-5 Days
Published: Oceanview Publishing - December 4th, 2018

The Second Goodbye (Pacific Homicide #3) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780738752365
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Midnight Ink - December 8th, 2018

Ahriman: The Spirit of Destruction Cover Image
$10.00
ISBN: 9781730889950
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puja Guha - November 5th, 2018

Road to Redemption: Book II Of The Ahriman Legacy Cover Image
$10.00
ISBN: 9781521187517
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puja Guha - May 27th, 2017

Resurgence of the Hunt: A Global Spy Thriller (The Ahriman Legacy Book III) Cover Image
$10.00
ISBN: 9781728804378
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puja Guha - December 22nd, 2018

Event Types Terms: