BookPeople is OPEN to the public in a limited capacity More information here!

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

REAVIS Z. WORTHAM & DAVID HANSARD - Hawke's Prey & How the Dark Gets in

Tuesday, August 1, 2017 - 7:00pm
Hawke's Prey (A Sonny Hawke Thriller #1) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780786041763
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pinnacle - June 27th, 2017




Tuesday, August 1st at 7pm

speaking & signing
Hawke's Party & How the Dark Gets in




It’s a stunning attack, lightning quick and chilling in its execution. A merciless gang of terrorists seizes the Presidio County Courthouse in the midst of the worst blizzard West Texas has seen in a century. Loaded down with enough fire power to outfit an army, the attackers slaughter dozens, take all survivors hostage, and assume complete control. The nation—and the U.S. government—are at their mercy.

Or so they think. They don’t know that a seasoned Texas Ranger is also inside the courthouse. Sonny Hawke has hauled in some of America’s Most Wanted. Now he’s up against his most dangerous adversary yet. Sonny likes his chances. The enemy is his to take down—one by one. Until he’s face-to-face with the ruthless mastermind gunning for our very freedom . . .


Reavis Z. Wortham is the award-winning author of the Red River Mystery series, including UnraveledThe Right Side of WrongVengeance is MineDark PlacesBurrows, and The Rock Hole (winner of the Benjamin Franklin Award). He is a member of the Mystery Writers of America, the Writers’ League of Texas, the International Association of Crime Writers, and International Thriller Writers. Reavis also pens a weekly self-syndicated weekly outdoor column for numerous Texas newspapers, writing on everything from fishing to deer hunting. He lives in northeast Texas with his wife. 


Faulkner said, -The past isn't dead. It isn't even past.- In HOW THE DARK GETS IN, Book 2 in the Porter Hall mystery series, Porter is about to find out that not only is the past not past, it's alive and well, wreaking havoc on the present, and threatening to derail the future. A friend is missing and in his search for her a woman presumed dead turns up alive, a woman he barely remembers is now in the middle of his life, a woman he knows to be dead drives by in the car she died in thirty years ago, and the living start to die. Porter is drawn into an odyssey that will Porter take him from his comfortable life with his children in New York City through the worst moments of his childhood to the rural Texas home he knows through hand-me-down memories, the place generations of his ancestors lived and died with hardship and hopelessness. In the meantime, the lives of everyone he loves hang by a thread controlled by an erratic prankster and an old enemy who's been seeking revenge for almost twenty years. It has falls on him to find who is behind the threats, and stop them, but for the first time in his life Porter Hall doubts the one thing he has always been able to trust: himself. C. J. Box, Edgar Award winner and #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Joe Pickett series, says about ONE MINUTE GONE, Book 1 in the Porter Hall series: -It blasts right out of the chute and doesn't stop bucking until the very last page...(it) reminded me of a real estate version of Serpico crossed with Bonfire of the Vanities...a bittersweet and very real portrayal of a family blown apart by mental illness, but saved by the wisecracking virtue of Porter Hall--the bulldog protagonist who won't let go of the case or his loved ones. Marcia Clark, NY Times #1 bestseller and author of the Samantha Brinkman and Rachel Knight legal thriller series, and former LA County prosecutor says of ONE MINUTE GONE: -This debut novel reads as though it was written by a seasoned pro. It's as thrilling as it is enchanting. The characters are vivid and unique...and if you don't fall in love with Porter Hall, you're a psychopath.-


David Hansard grew up in Cheyenne, Wyoming, and lived for 25 years in New York City, where the Porter Hall series is set. After receiving a BA and MA (Creative Writing--Poetry) from the University of Wyoming, he moved to Austin where he entered the graduate program in Radio-TV-Film at the University of Texas. He now lives and writes in Colorado Springs. ONE MINUTE GONE, the first Porter Hall book, was released in 2013, and the second, HOW THE DARK GETS IN, in 2017. The third--as yet untitled--in the series will be released in future.

If you cannot attend the event and would like to order a signed copy of the book, add the book to your cart and put SIGNED COPY in the comments field at checkout. We ship all over the world!

Thank you for supporting Reavis Z. Wortham & David Hansard and your local independent bookstore!