BookPeople is open at limited capacity! Read our in-store shopping guidelines.

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

VIRTUAL EVENT: RH Graphic Doodle Draw!

Event Placeholder Image
Thursday, September 10, 2020 - 4:00pm
Free
Pizza and Taco: Who's the Best? Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593123300
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - May 5th, 2020

Donut Feed the Squirrels (Norma and Belly #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984895837
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - September 29th, 2020

Crabapple Trouble Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984896803
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - August 11th, 2020

Shark and Bot Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593173350
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

 

Thursday, September 10 at 4pm CT

Authors
STEPHEN SHASKAN, MIKA SONG, KAETI VANDORN, BRIAN YANISH
Doodlin' & Drawin'
Pizza Taco, Donut Feed the Squirrels, Crabapple Trouble, Shark and Bot

LIVE ON ZOOM!

REGISTER HERE


EVENT GUIDELINES

  • Please consider purchasing a copy of one of the books below -- or all of them! All books come with a signed bookplate. Your support keeps our virtual programming going!
  • Digital Doors Open at 3:45PM CDT
  • Event Begins at 4:00PM CDT
  • NOTE: Because this is a virtual event that will be hosted on Zoom, you will need access to a computer or other device that is capable of accessing and sufficient Internet access. If you have not used Zoom before, you may consider referencing Getting Started with Zoom

ABOUT PIZZA TACO

The first in a hilarious young graphic novel series about Pizza and Taco. Two best friends, lots of toppings...but only one of them can be the BEST, right? Fans of Narwhal and Jelly will eat this book up...and be hungry for more!

Best friends are the BEST! But WHO is the BEST? Is it Pizza or Taco? The question is debatable! They both love water slides. They both are friends with Hot Dog and Hamburger. In fact, maybe they should have a debate and get their friends to VOTE for who's the best! Can their friendship survive the race for top spot on the popularity food chain? Cast your VOTE!

This graphic chapter book will tickle the funny bones of kids ages 4-7 and bolster their reading confidence. Readers will be eager to devour the next book in the series, Pizza and Taco Throw a Party, coming in 2021! Young graphic chapter books are also a great step on the way to longer chapter books and graphic novels.

ABOUT STEPHEN SHASKAN

STEPHEN SHASKAN has written and illustrated a dozen children's books. His debut picture book, A Dog Is a Dog, was a New York Public Library 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing Selection and was a CCBC Choices Book. He holds a BFA in illustration from Rhode Island School of Design, and worked with kids for twenty years as an early childhood educator and an after-school and summer art teacher. He performs musical storytimes, presents at schools, conferences, and festivals, and teaches comic classes to kids. Stephen lives with--and often collaborates with--his wife, Trisha Speed Shaskan, in Minneapolis. Visit him at stephenshaskan.com.


ABOUT DONUT FEED THE SQUIRRELS

Two squirrels--and best friends--meet their match: a donut food truck! A hilarious young graphic novel perfect for fans of Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea and anyone who would do ANYTHING for a donut.

Norma and Belly plan to start the day with some pancakes, but when Norma accidentally burns them, these two best friends set out to find a new treat. Chestnuts might be nice . . . but what is that delicious smell in the distance? A new food truck has parked near their tree, and these two squirrels are going to figure out how to get their hands on these "donuts" that it seems to be selling.

Mika Song gives readers something to laugh at as these squirrels try their hardest to get some donuts while just about everything goes wrong. A fun "donut caper" graphic novel that focuses on madcap action, problem-solving, and the power of working together.

ABOUT MIKA SONG

Mika Song is a children's writer/illustrator who makes stories about sweetly funny outsiders. She grew up in Manila, Philippines and Honolulu, Hawaii before moving to New York to study at Pratt Institute. She studied animation and worked as an animator before getting into children's books.

In 2015, she received the Portfolio Award at the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators Winter Conference in NYC. Tea with Oliver (HarperCollins) is the first book she both wrote and illustrated. Donut Feed the Squirrels is her debut graphic novel.


ABOUT CRABAPPLE TROUBLE

Callaway just wants to do a good job--but her worries are getting in the way! A fun adventure filled with an adorable cast of fruits and vegetables, this young chapter-book graphic novel is perfect for fans of Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea.

Callaway, with her apple head and huge heart, likes to help others, grow special crabapples, and spend time with her friends--but things suddenly go sideways when the town decides to hold a festival and all her friends want to enter the harvest contest! Afraid that nothing she has will be good enough, Callaway nearly loses her head and ends up finding a fairy named Thistle.

Join Callaway and Thistle as they prepare for the festival and help their friends--and each other--along the way. A delightfully genuine story about problem-solving, having confidence in yourself, and learning that it's okay to ask for help when you need it.

ABOUT KAETI VANDORN

Kaeti Vandorn is a children's illustrator and comic artist who likes friendly monsters and playing with color. She also enjoys fantasy adventure stories. Crabapple Trouble is Kaeti's debut graphic novel. Kaeti can be found on Twitter and Instagram at @proteidaes.


ABOUT SHARK AND BOT

A shark and a robot are unlikely friends. But in this hilarious young graphic novel series, what makes you different makes for an EPIC friendship.

Can a shark and a robot really be friends? What makes us different also makes for EPIC friendship in this hilarious new graphic series, perfect for reluctant readers, and fans of Narwhal and Jelly and Bad Guys.

Shark loves water. Bot short circuits if he goes near water! Shark recites poetry. Bot recites facts. Can these two really be friends? They're both a little awkward... They both love comics... And just wait til you see their dance moves when they confront a playground bully. Readers won't just laugh along, they'll identify with real-life issues of making friends, accepting differences, and dealing with bullies in the best way possible.

ABOUT BRIAN YANISH

Brian Yanish is a professional illustrator and author. He has worked for Jim Henson Productions in Los Angeles, trained as a special effects moldmaker, written and performed comedy, designed educational software, and sold his own line of T-shirts. His first book, ScrapKins Junk Re-Thunk, was published by Holt/Ottaviano in 2016 and he has a picture book, Pirate Chicken: All Hens on Deck! was published by Sourcebooks in 2019. He currently lives in Rochester, NY. Find out more at www.brianyanish.com


Thank you for supporting Stephen Shaskan, Mika Song, Kaeti Vandorn, Brian Yanish and your local independent bookstore!