BookPeople is OPEN to the public in a limited capacity More information here!

Warning message

Mean Menu style requires jQuery library version 1.7 or higher, but you have opted to provide your own library. Please ensure you have the proper version of jQuery included. (note: this is not an error)

Special Gift from Austin's Local Authors

Return to Previous Page


  
Austin Breakfast Tacos: The Story of the Most Important Taco of the Day (American Palate) Cover Image
By Mando Rayo, Jarod Neece, Joel Salcido (Photographer)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626190498
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: History Press (SC) - July 9th, 2013

Perfect for: the taco lover in all of us. Also perfect for: Austin expats who miss their hometown taco joint. AND: for brand new transplants who could stand to learn a thing or two about just what it means to taco in this town.    


Steal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9780761169253
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Workman Publishing Company - February 28th, 2012

Perfect for: burgeoning artists and creative types of all ages who could use a boost of encouragment and more than a little inspiration.  


Show Your Work!: 10 Ways to Share Your Creativity and Get Discovered Cover Image
$12.95
ISBN: 9780761178972
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Workman Publishing Company - March 6th, 2014

Perfect for: the creative type who wants to know what to do with his or her creations. This book is also a great fire starter for those seeking inspiration.   


Newspaper Blackout Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780061732973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - April 13th, 2010

Perfect for: doodlers, dreamers, poets, and the one caught drawing in the margins of books.    


Above the East China Sea Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780385350112
Availability: Backordered. Place an order and we will let you know when to expect your book.
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - May 27th, 2014

Perfect for: fans of engrossing novels that weave together stories over various periods of time. Also recommended for readers who love a well-told story set during World War II.    


Staff Pick Badge
Rebel Yell: The Violence, Passion, and Redemption of Stonewall Jackson Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781451673289
Availability: Out of Stock; Usually Arrives in 5-7 Days
Published: Scribner - September 30th, 2014

Perfect for: Civil War history buffs, fans of Empire of the Summer Moon, and readers who gobble up riveting historical biographies. Stonewall Jackson is a fascinating character.  


Perfect for: anyone who wants to dive into Texas history and the history of the American West.   


Dr. Mutter's Marvels: A True Tale of Intrigue and Innovation at the Dawn of Modern Medicine Cover Image
ISBN: 9781592408702
Availability: Unavailable. Orders will be auto-cancelled.
Published: Avery Publishing Group - September 4th, 2014

Perfect for: fans of true tales of very weird history. A great read for anyone in the sciences, especially medical science. Readers who dig Mary Roach will get into this book.    


Coming to My Senses: A Story of Perfume, Pleasure, and an Unlikely Bride Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143123385
Availability: Backordered. Place an order and we will let you know when to expect your book.
Published: Penguin Books - June 25th, 2013

Perfect for: readers who enjoy a mesmerizing memoir. Also wonderful for those of us who enjoy a little bit of luxury in our lives. Of course, anyone who wears perfume must read this book.   


Staff Pick Badge
Thunderstruck & Other Stories Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780385335775
Availability: Backordered. Place an order and we will let you know when to expect your book.
Published: Dial Press - April 22nd, 2014

Perfect for: fans of short and literary fiction. Any reader who loves a writer who can turn spin comic and tragic sentiments in the same story. Lovers of sentences. This book was nominated for a National Book Award!    Books for Young Readers!  


Staff Pick Badge
The Great Greene Heist Cover Image
ISBN: 9780545525527
Availability: Unavailable. Orders will be auto-cancelled.
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - May 27th, 2014

Perfect for: young readers ages 8 and up who love schemes, plot twists, drama, con artists, and a good old fashioned squaring off of good versus evil - all set in a middle school!  


Staff Pick Badge
Attack! Boss! Cheat Code!: A Gamer's Alphabet Cover Image
By Chris Barton, Joey Spiotto (Illustrator)
$14.95
ISBN: 9781576877012
Availability: Backordered. Place an order and we will let you know when to expect your book.
Published: Pow! Kids Books - October 14th, 2014

Perfect for: kids who love to game and the parents who long to understand them. Anyone who wants to sling gamer lingo like a pro (or just have fun trying).   


Staff Pick Badge
Heap House: Book One Cover Image
ISBN: 9781468309539
Availability: Unavailable. Orders will be auto-cancelled.
Published: Amulet Books - October 15th, 2014

Perfect for: young reader ages 8 and up who fancy Lemony Snicket. Also a good pick for fans of Charles Dickens, Edward Gorey and dark, humorous tales of children living in trash heaps.   


Revenge of the Flower Girls Cover Image
ISBN: 9780545561419
Availability: Unavailable. Orders will be auto-cancelled.
Published: Scholastic Press - May 27th, 2014

Perfect for: young
reader ages 8 and up who are fans of the Princess Diaries books, Ramona and Beezus, and wedding adventures.