Amplify Picks

Return to Previous Page

Cane By Jean Toomer, George B. Hutchinson (Introduction by), Zinzi Clemmons (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Jean Toomer, George B. Hutchinson (Introduction by), Zinzi Clemmons (Foreword by)
$15.00
ISBN: 9780143133674
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Classics - January 8th, 2019

"Jean Toomer was writing what we would now call flash fiction back in 1923, and his vignettes of Black life form a lovely, haunting collage of indelible moments. Composed of poems, flash, short stories, and a novella, Cane is an unforgettable classic that’s unlike anything else I’ve ever read." 

– Ellie


How to Turn Into a Bird By María José Ferrada, Elizabeth Bryer (Translated by) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781953534460
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - December 6th, 2022

"How to Turn Into a Bird is just like the billboard at its center: a place to perch and see the world from above as the lights of society blink slowly into view. The prose is funny and rueful in the same breath, and its simple sentences lend a sense of elementality to every character." – Ellie


Afterparties: Stories By Anthony Veasna So Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063049895
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco - June 7th, 2022

"Each story in this collection is a glimpse into the narrator's life, a moment in time that you spend with them. The reader gets to see how being Cambodian American & knowing their ancestors survived the Khmer Rouge genocide affects each of the characters. My favorite stores were: Maly, Maly, Maly, The Shop, We Would've Been Princes!, & Human Development. I loved this collection so much." – Mallory


When Two Feathers Fell from the Sky By Margaret Verble Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063269101
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - October 11th, 2022

"Following disaster, a young Cherokee show horse-diver and her co-performers band together to unravel a mysterious force that is threatening their show. Verble’s vibrant and vivid writing style draws you into the world of show business in the 1920s, intricately combining elements of history, spiritual realism, community, and mystery, as well as highlighting the serious topics of race, class, segregation and prejudice. A soul-cleansing, uplifting, and meaningful read, When Two Feathers Fell from the Sky is the found family story to rule them all." – Melissa


Future Home of the Living God: A Novel By Louise Erdrich Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062694065
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - November 13th, 2018

"Louise Erdrich is one of my favorite authors to read when the weather starts to turn colder. With themes of autonomy, inheritance, and motherhood this book speaks to issues that have always been timely to native people. Perfect for fans of Kazuo Ishiguro, Future Home of the Living God will both stimulate your mind and unsettle your soul." – Mik


Valleyesque: Stories By Fernando A. Flores Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780374604134
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: MCD x FSG Originals - May 3rd, 2022

“Fluttering between a dream-like state and an all out fever dream, Valleyesque is an unpredictable collection of short stories grounded in the absurd and understated. The proud father of an ear wax baby, an explorer of a dangerous thrift store land, Opossums up to no good and more coalesce to create a truly surreal reading experience. Fernando A. Flores balances complete absurdity and carefully inserts it into otherwise mundane life to shape stories of border life that are submerged in surrealism and ask to be read again. Some stories will make you consider what is real, some will make you feel, and some will make you take part in a choose your own adventure Lee Harvey Oswald story. ” - Mathew


Staff Pick Badge
Tell Me How Long the Train's Been Gone (Vintage International) By James Baldwin Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780375701894
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - February 17th, 1998

Love in Color: Mythical Tales from Around the World, Retold By Bolu Babalola Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063078505
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - April 26th, 2022

Staff Pick Badge
Skye Falling: A Novel By Mia McKenzie Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781984801623
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - June 14th, 2022

Chemistry: A Novel (Vintage Contemporaries) By Weike Wang Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525432227
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 3rd, 2018

Country of Origin By Dalia Azim Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781646051526
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Strange Object - April 12th, 2022

The Pretty One: On Life, Pop Culture, Disability, and Other Reasons to Fall in Love with Me By Keah Brown Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781982100544
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - August 6th, 2019

First Love, Take Two By Sajni Patel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781538733363
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Forever - September 21st, 2021

Gordo By Jaime Cortez Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780802158086
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grove Press, Black Cat - August 17th, 2021

In the Presence of the Sun: Stories and Poems, 1961-1991 By N. Scott Momaday Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780826348166
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of New Mexico Press - October 31st, 2009

Temper: A Novel By Nicky Drayden Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062493057
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - August 7th, 2018

The Deep By Rivers Solomon, Daveed Diggs, William Hutson, Jonathan Snipes Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534439870
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: S&S/Saga Press - August 4th, 2020

There's No Such Thing as an Easy Job By Kikuko Tsumura Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781635576917
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - March 23rd, 2021

Dance on the Volcano By Marie Vieux-Chauvet, Kaiama L. Glover (Translated by) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780914671572
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Archipelago - January 10th, 2017

Staff Pick Badge
The Subtweet By Vivek Shraya Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781770415256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: ECW Press - April 7th, 2020

The Groom Will Keep His Name: And Other Vows I've Made About Race, Resistance, and Romance By Matt Ortile Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781541762794
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bold Type Books - June 2nd, 2020

Cantoras By Carolina De Robertis Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780525563433
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - June 2nd, 2020

Fiebre Tropical By Julián Delgado Lopera Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781936932757
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Amethyst Editions - March 4th, 2020

There Will Be No Miracles Here: A Memoir By Casey Gerald Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780735214224
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - October 1st, 2019

Heart Berries: A Memoir By Terese Marie Mailhot Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781640091603
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Counterpoint - April 9th, 2019